Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Mac OS X Install

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by krzyhobo, Jun 7, 2005.

  1. krzyhobo

    krzyhobo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Mac OS X Install

    So I'm the proud owner of a new Apple PowerBook - can we please spare ourselves the typical debate here? :teeth: I was under the impression that all the Diablo 2 software was compatible with both the Mac OS and Windows using the same set of CDs and didn't foresee any problems.

    I downloaded the native Mac OS X installer from the Blizzard website. It opened and prompted me to insert my Diablo 2 install CD. I did so and it reads it, recognizes it, and immediately spits it back out continuing to ask for the Install Disc. What gives?

    Is this a problem of compatability with Tiger or am I wrong in thinking that all the discs Blizzard sold are compatible with both systems?
     
  2. krzyhobo

    krzyhobo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    I've discovered that the very, very initial game releases were PC only discs. *Sigh* Shouldn't have pre-ordered it back in the day :rolleyes:
     
  3. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,707
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Yeah, it sounds like you have a PC-only disc instead of a hybrid installer. I think you can get Blizzard to do a switch with you for a little bit of money . . . or there's always Ebay.
     
  4. krzyhobo

    krzyhobo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    I'll see what I can find out from Blizzard.

    Jealous of my shiny new 15" PBook? :teeth: Just arrived today.
     
  5. AjustinMyJonson

    AjustinMyJonson IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    I think my 30" display and G5 dominate that 15" powerbook. Even though i have one myself...
     
  6. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,707
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Someday I'll have a Centrino PowerBook to show off in this thread. :D
     
  7. krzyhobo

    krzyhobo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Agreed. I'm excited by events to come regarding said architecture switch.
     

Share This Page