Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

mac emulator?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Stompwampa, Oct 11, 2006.

  1. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    mac emulator?

    A friend of mine has this program that emulates the scrolling navigation bar that mac's have on the bottom of the desktop...anyone know what it is called or where I can find it to install on my PC??
     
  2. themachine

    themachine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Windowblinds?
     
  3. bg1256

    bg1256 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I use this one on my windows machine.

    http://www.stardock.com/products/objectdock/

    Click "try it" and download the freeware version.

    Icons and themes can be found here:
    http://www.wincustomize.com/

    It's the most stable docking program I can find. Others I have tried are MobyDock and RocketDock. Imo, those are too unstable. They often crashed when adding new shortcuts, and they froze my system occasionally too.

    Objecdock is the way to go (created by stardock).

    Hope it helps.

    edit: all of these programs can be a little hoggish when it comes to RAM... so be aware before you install. With 512 RAM, I noticed that it did slow my system down slightly. But, if you have >/= 1GB, you should be good to go.

    My desktop has 1GB RAM, and I don't notice a performance hit at all.
     
  4. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    What's the point of that? Couldn't you just put the shortcuts in your tray or something?
     
  5. bg1256

    bg1256 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    It looks cooler :rolleyes:

    I hate a clutter desktop - this solves that problem. And I like to be able to customize, customize, customize. This allows that too.
     
  6. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    It is kind of cute I suppose.
     
  7. bg1256

    bg1256 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    You really get the effect if you watch the demo movies.

    Of course, most of that is not available with the freeware version... but you can get the Mac-like dock with the freeware version.

    And you can download umpteen custom icons, so you're not stuck with the Windows default everything.

    It's purely for looks, but if you're into that, it's great.
     
  8. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466

    I hate the system tray...and yea, this is more for looks than anything, and to clean up the desktop...I hate it being cluttered.

    It seems to suck up a bit of RAM though when I have it set to animate the scrolling...
     
  9. bg1256

    bg1256 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Yes, it does suck up RAM. All of them do, at least the ones I've used (Rocketdock, Mobydock).

    If you get rid of the animations - which gets rid of some of the coolness - then it takes less RAM.

    Sidenote: I have one of these on my Linux machine, and it doesn't slow it down at all...
     
  10. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    yea...but Linux is cool :thumbsup:
     
  11. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *laughs at the nubs*

    Microsoft should start pushing more of the graphics work onto the GPU instead of the CPU/RAM. It would make this kinda thing easier on you guys.
     
  12. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    true dat. true dat.
     
  13. bg1256

    bg1256 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Let's hope Vista has learned from the mistakes of the past.

    I don't see myself using it anytime soon... but I hope it's an improvement, nonetheless.

    If I ever buy another notebook, it will most likely be a Mac. I think I'll stick with a PC desktop, however.
     
  14. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aero is snazzy looking*cough*ripoff*cough*. But I don't think it included any APIs for using the graphics card. It might be harder with the range of vid cards Windows has to support, but Apple just gave parameters for what APIs could be used and it worked out.
     
  15. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    vista doesn't use a dock.. still desktop icons *sigh*
     
  16. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That wasn't what I meant. OS X has built in 'core services' that any programmer can use to do audio/video/picture editing on the fly really quickly and with minimal resource use. It does the video/picture stuff by using the GPU instead of the CPU for all the work. It makes more sense this way, the card was designed for it. I don't believe Vista has done this, at least it isn't open for the developer.

    I could be wrong though, I haven't looked much into the programming side of Vista yet.
     
  17. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    ah ok that actually makes more sense. No wonder my friend's powerbook runs so fast even though he's had it for several years already.

    I'm definitely thinking about getting a macbook pro for college because vista is way too bloated for me.
     
  18. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    If your OS is using your GPU you know you're being a tool.

    Heh, that's a good one.
     
  19. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if your just ignorant or an asshole at this point.
     
  20. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    The latter.

    Seriously though, what is the world coming to when the OS starts hogging system resources to do fancy animations? I remember back when it was just there to run things.
     

Share This Page