Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

LAN at home. Need help please.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by masterazn, May 10, 2005.

  1. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LAN at home. Need help please.

    Okay, so I was talking about getting a powerbook and all, it's done. I'm getting my 15" powerbook in about two weeks. Now, I have a problem.

    My network at home is like so:

    My hub is located in the garage in a cupboard thing where it basically has three plugs coming out of the wall that plug into the hub. The hub has an "uplink" socket which is where my adsl gateway router thing is pluged into. The wires from the wall then run inside the walls to my dad's study, and my study. My hub has five ports for computers, so two are not used, but my mom designed this whole in-wall network thing and she didn't make extra sockets. So this is how it would be like in a diagram:

    Diagram of masterazn's network at home

    So you get the idea anyway. So obviously it's not possible to rewire in the walls or anything. So my plan is to go wireless. Now, my garage is pretty far from my study. The study is on the second floor and the garage is on the first floor. I'm guessing there's about a 20-30meter distance through a set of concrete walls. Will a wireless router cover my entire house with decent signal? If so, how do I incorporate my wireless router without having to make all my computers go wireless (as in have my wired and wireless HUB together)?

    How will I put my powerbook into my windows network?

    Thanks all.
     
  2. Rius666

    Rius666 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    This is a feeble attempt to help with very limited networking knowledge so please take this in stride.

    First to address the wireless issue. Most of the time wireless will work even going through brick walls. The signal strength will be weak (about 50%) but ur link quality will be good and that's all you need to have a functioning internet. I have DSL routed wirelessly going through 3 brick walls and it works just fine. Just make you have a good router and a signal booster as well as a good external usb receptor. The reason for the external receptor is that you can move it around and see where u can get the best reception.

    Also, I dont know too much about Macs but ill still try to answer this part, there is a windows simulation for mac that is a mirror of windows. Might make your setup easier, IDK just a thought. MIght wanna ask KOW on this.
     
  3. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Grats on the new PB, don't be afraid to IM/PM me.

    For the wireless networking you will need a wireless router. Your PowerBook will work with 802.11B/G which is pretty much all you will find anyway. The way wireless networks are designed is standard so as long as you get a decent brand router you can connect to it. I personally prefer Apple Airports or Linksys, but I have heard good things about D-Link. Look around at a computer store or online, you can find them easy. Of course the Airport will be the easiest to set up, but none of them are that hard.


    As for networking your computers, it depends on what you want to do. Share files? Share a printer? Something else? Tell me a bit more and I think I can answer it.
     
  4. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I basically want to be able to share files, share the printer and be online. I have one DSL line which connects into my HUB and then all my computers can use it.

    What is a signal booster? And I think the PB wireless is inside, not external.
     
  5. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Don't worry about the signal booster, you won't need it. And yes the wireless is inside the PB(the card is upper left and there are antennas in the side of the screen.

    File sharing That is really pretty straight forward.

    As for printer sharing, there is a new way to do it that I am curious about trying. What version of Windows do you have?


    NOTE: Don't forget Safari's Porn Mode
     
  6. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The printer is on a computer running XP Pro (SP1, I refuse to install SP2).

    Alright, that website seems to get it all down. But one more thing, what about me wire/wireless issue? Is there a solution?
     
  7. jmervyn

    jmervyn IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    360
    Trophy Points:
    498
    I'm not really sure what you've defined as the problem. If you're asking whether a wireless device can to 30+ feet and through some cinderblock or cement, the answer is probably 'sure'.

    If you're asking about a model, I heartily recommend a variant of what I'm using at home - though I've disabled my wireless capability at this time. Check out the Linksys WRT54G, which has recieved rave reviews and can do just about anything such a device can (it is Linux-based, of course). You would buy one of these puppies for about $55 at Best Buy, take it home & plug it in. It has 5 ports in back, one of which is for a DMZ (which I don't expect you'd use), so it would effectively replace your dumb hub with a smart router/switch.

    Some of the more esoteric stuff, like using your cell phone on it or having it filter your e-mail server, you don't need. But it adds an inherent decent quality firewall and automatically acts as a DHCP server, and even conducts Natural Address Translation so you aren't using your real IP in public.

    I'm not sure if you're really asking what networking protocols or methods you're planning on. If you're just using Windoze for workgroupz methods, you'll not have to worry about establishing servers or services (you'll just be horribly unprotected within the LAN, but you're already at that stage in public). Personally, I'm going to set up an old machine with the new Novell networking software, which combines the goodness of Novell with the reliability of Linux. I'm just too cheap & too busy to do it all in one move.

    Hope this helps. Google for information on this sweet thang rather than just blindly trusting me. But just remember - Linux is inevitable :D
     
  8. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    That's the router I've got, and I've had no problems with it. Heck, even my mom bought that router, and she could set it up. In fact, she has a powerbook, and it works quite well. We even ran Xbox Live through her powerbook's wireless connection once. Now that took some effort.
     
  9. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a little side note...take care with security when it comes to your WLAN. A recent survey here in sweden showed that just walking around with your laptop (in this case in Stockholm) you can gain access to as many as 50-100 unprotected networks just in one single block. I have tested this myself (in Lund, where I live) and, true enough, with a laptop with a wireless network card I have access to a lot of networks right, left and center. From home, in the park, you name it!

    So, basically make sure to:

    - change the name of your network, don't leave the settings as is.
    - use a good password
    - use encryption
    - use mac-adress controlling. Every network card has it's own identity (mac-adress). By adjusting which mac-adresses have access to your network you only permit the computers you want to allow access.
     
  10. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Definitely a good idea, Hats. From my apartment I get about 6 different wireless signals. At the beginning of the year, two or three of them were unprotected. It was nice to leech off them when I was having trouble with my network, but now they've all wised up.
     
  11. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hehe was thinking that myself, it's very useful for those days when my regular ISP decides to go down on me. ;)
     
  12. jmervyn

    jmervyn IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    360
    Trophy Points:
    498
    And of course, that's why I have mine turned off. I don't fancy being the host of some "wardriver" (the U.S. hobbyists who make surfing WAP's a game).
     
  13. Rius666

    Rius666 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Just curious as to why u refuse to install SP2?

    Also I've heard that with the latest generation of powerbooks the built-in wireless antennae aren't very effective at picking up signals b/c the antannae are encased in aluminum or something like that. This might not be an issue with your home LAN or certain hotspots but I've have witness many situations on my schools WIFI where PB's couldn't get signal even tho with other laptops the signal was being picked it and it was just fine. Just a sidenote. I'm not much of a Mac buff but this is just what I've heard and known from personal experience. Again this might not affect you but it's something that's known to happen. If this does happen you can easily remedy it with a cardbus adapter.
     
  14. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I have never had a problem connecting to a router with my PowerBook, at my church I can sit in the corner and use my laptop where most people fade out 2 or 3 feet closer. PowerBooks don't get as good of a signal as an iBook, but it is in no way bad. If people couldn't connect at your school something was screwy.

    Printing should be easy

    As for adding the wireless, if you got a wireless router you can just plug it into one of the open ports of your existing router. . .although other things can then get tricky. I would put the router in your room, it will give the best signal and assuming your room is higher up will give better range throughout your house.
     
  15. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay well, word came from the dad that says we're not going wireless. Thanks for all your input though.

    I'm simply going to get rid of this old computer and use my power book instead. I still like the idea of walking around my house though....using my laptop in the backyard. Oh well, maybe another time.

    I shall come back soon when I actually get the damn thing.
     
  16. Freet

    Freet IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    466

    Swedes say the darndest things ;)
     
  17. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hahahaha didn't even spot that one while I was typing. :D

    Guess I can blame it on lack of english practice...
     
  18. jmervyn

    jmervyn IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    360
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Well, I didn't think of it in that way either, and I was both contemplating your nationality and admiring your tat... so I was certainly in the right frame of mind. %-}~

    English is my 1st language, honest!
     
  19. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    'tis my tird so me not know it so good. :p
     
  20. jmervyn

    jmervyn IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    360
    Trophy Points:
    498
    I've forgotten my 3rd (German) and most of my 2nd (Spanish). So you're a far better, er, linguist than I.

    (and the rest of you, get your minds out of the gutter! I didn't say anything about cunning)
     

Share This Page