Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Jeweler: No longer can socket?

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 General Discussion' started by Risingred, May 2, 2012.

  1. Risingred

    Risingred IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    [​IMG]

    This is the most recent interface for the jeweler. There's a tab for upgrading (combining) gems, a tab to remove a gem from an item (shown), and the last tab is to train up the jeweler.

    So I guess they're depending on sockets as a modifier now?
     
  2. Brokenstorm

    Brokenstorm IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Makes sense as take would have made the Sockets affixes useless on anything other than chest armor.
     
  3. Kblavkalash

    Kblavkalash IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    How do you know it's the most recent interface? Just wondering :)

    Socket affixes would be wasted only on 1 space items, like rings, amus, so just don't allow add socket to those and problem solved. Unless items like boots, gloves, etc can have only 1 socket max?


     
  4. Risingred

    Risingred IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Not sure how I feel about that. It makes sockets really random like in D2, even though there's a big focus on gems, unlike in D2.

    Well, I can qualify that if you want. It's from Patch 18, which Blizzard said is the same as release.


     
  5. ShadoutMapes

    ShadoutMapes IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Sounds pretty stupid if true. Gems are becoming more and more marginal and boring.
     
  6. Kblavkalash

    Kblavkalash IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Well game guide says Jeweler can add sockets, so it may be in first tab where you transform gems.

    Btw just found that it's not possible to add sockets into weapons :eek:
     
  7. Raesene

    Raesene IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    I like it. The socket modifier will be quite valuable, and it will have a trade-off. It beats having a socket in everything at all times. Also, it makes ignoring gems a legitimate path because you could effectively trade in that socket affix for one that gives a benefit not obtainable through a gem.
     
  8. Eeryck

    Eeryck IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    I am not sure how much data mining can tell you, is it possible that the jeweler learns socketing items as a quest reward or unlockable? Blizzard is on a control the rate at which you can do things kick per the recent Jay Wilson interview.
     
  9. Risingred

    Risingred IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    No, it's definitely gone in the beta client. The combine gem tab (now it's set up like the bsmith tabs) only has gem combinations.

    Obviously I can only speak of the beta client, but in the emulator, everything for the artisans (barring set items and legendaries) are already unlocked.
     
  10. RazeBarb

    RazeBarb IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    I like it.
    Now that you basically have your gems forever, I would have socketed every item I found to use my gems.

    If they are only random, it makes the possible builds more diverse. You need luck to use the gems now.
     
  11. Kblavkalash

    Kblavkalash IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    If item which is socketable with Jeweler can have 2 or more sockets then it's not a problem. Just like in D2, you can have sockets from affix and you can add your own socket, and what's wrong with that?


     
  12. RazeBarb

    RazeBarb IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    I mean we wouldn't ever use items without sockets.
    If you find a item without socket = go to the jeweler and socket it. Might as well drop every item with at least 1 socket.
     
  13. prodiii

    prodiii IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    true if it will be worth the price. i dont know how many you had to pay to socket an item actually. quite strange that the option looks removed. i dont see much of problems there if it will be not cheap (but also not super expensive).


     
  14. Kblavkalash

    Kblavkalash IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    But that was the same with D2 :) At least you have a choice which gem to socket, but if you can't add a socket, then you don't even have that choice.


     
  15. ShadoutMapes

    ShadoutMapes IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Would be fine with me if every single item dropped with a socket as well. However, allowing people to socket their items instead represents an obvious gold sink.
     
  16. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    121
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    not sure if i like this or not. i had no problem with every item also having a socket now we need to hope it rolls as a mod i guess? that is of course if the gems are better than regular mods otherwise rolling a socket mod would be a waste
     
  17. Karpalo

    Karpalo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Weirdly enough socket modifier seems kinda a weak in comparison. You need multiple slots to be able to match a high level affix. Guess we need to wait couple of weeks and see how it will turn out in the end.
     
  18. ShadoutMapes

    ShadoutMapes IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Anyone on twitter could ask Bashiok or Jay? Could be interesting to get an answer.
    The gem information pages on their forum are really a mess by now :D
     
  19. redrach

    redrach IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    Perhaps it's an ability that's unlocked after you train your Jeweler to a certain level?
     
  20. Risingred

    Risingred IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: Jeweler: No longer can socket?

    plus ten chars


     

Share This Page