Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Is there a way to play without the CD?

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by Malodium, Oct 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Malodium

    Malodium IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Is there a way to play without the CD?

    I have the cracked .exe file that can be used to play off-line, but to play online, it checkes the .exe when you try to log in and won't let you play if its different.
    Just was wondering if anyone knew a way to play without the CD in the drive.

    I can take it out once I start the game, but ocasionally it asks me to put it back in. Its just annoying.
     
  2. Evrae Altana

    Evrae Altana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    15,336
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I don't think there is a way, barring the use of third party programs.
     
  3. Quietus

    Quietus IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,470
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    346

    I believe that there is a way to make an image of the disc and use that to load the game, though I'm not sure what the EULA says about that sort of activity.
     
  4. Malodium

    Malodium IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I have actually tried that, but the game didn't recognize the image as the disk and wouldn't load.

    I would think the game was old enough that they wouldn't care much, but maybe not.
     
  5. seralph

    seralph IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    77
    They actually never removed the copy protection which would be work to do.

    Technically there is no problem running Diablo from an image without modifing any part of the diablo disc information or the installation in any way.

    If you are not sure wheter it is allowed to run diablo from an image or not (i am not), use the CD.
     
  6. doraemon

    doraemon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i play without the cd...
    i own an original copy, just easier to play without the cd.

    so it's definately possible, but i'm not sure if i'm allowed to post the method
     
  7. Gorny

    Gorny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Correct, I'd rather the method not be posted, citing EULA concerns and this sites policy with them.

    :closed:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page