Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

installation issue

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Patch Bug Reports & Suggestions' started by mugana, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. mugana

    mugana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    283
    installation issue

    my brother's pc has the latest drivers but diablo 2 video test will just give a black screen and freeze the pc. He uses the following.

    Amd athlon 3800
    msi k8n sli-f mobo
    2gb ram
    7900GT videocard


    The pc has directx9 but diablo 2 just won't pass the video test. Any ideas why?
     
  2. Inokis

    Inokis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Is he running a soundblastar card also? there seems to be a glitch with nvidia and soundblaster. Make sure the soundblaster drivers are updated as well if he uses one.
     
  3. mugana

    mugana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    283
    no he is using intergrated sound. He just usese the nforce chipset drivers for the motherboard and vid card drivers. I have no idea why d2 is doing this.
     
  4. Inokis

    Inokis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Go to start button > run > regedit
    Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER >Software > Blizzard Entertainment > Diablo II > Video Config
    Right click on Video config and export, save the file to your desktop and then paste the contents here or email it to me.

    Also try Start > Run > DXDiag
    This should output any problems with the drivers and such.
     
  5. mugana

    mugana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    283
  6. Inokis

    Inokis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Did you have any errors with DXDiag?

    The registry file looks normal with all the adequate entries to run.
     
  7. mugana

    mugana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    283
    ill list the dixdiag info here.






    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. mugana

    mugana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    283
  9. Inokis

    Inokis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    99
    well there's no obvious problems with dxdiag. Have you tried to run DII to see if it runs?

    If dii runs we can edit the registry settings for the video mode you want and bypass the videotest, however if dii doesn't run then either an uninstall of dii and a reinstall is warranted or trying to uninstall and reinstall the drivers.

    I'm thinking either the driver installation is corrupt or somehow the dii installation isn't reading the video information correctly.

    DXdiag should have picked up any problems with the drivers, so its probably a dii problem.
     
  10. mugana

    mugana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    283
    when dii is executed, all he sees is a black screen with the mouse visible. I don't understand why this is happening. His pc can play modern 3d games but not d2?
     
  11. Inokis

    Inokis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    99
    This is most likely just a program data corruption error of some sort. Try running a scandisk, if that doesn't come up with anything, uninstall dii, delete the entire dii folder, restart the computer and reinstall DII.
     

Share This Page