Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

In search of ideas on a guitar.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Zabo, Apr 4, 2004.

1. Zabo

Zabo IncGamers Member

In search of ideas on a guitar.

For some reason over the past few months I've grown the urge to start playing the guitar. I've had NO prior experience with one so I'm not sure if buying an electric would be worth the money. Assuming I get an acoustic, any recomendations on brands or if I should even bother?

2. My_Immortal6

My_Immortal6 IncGamers Member

Just get a cheap accoustic and learn on that. Then if you like it move on up to something better.

3. Wuhan_Clan

Wuhan_Clan IncGamers Member

I also think its better to learn on an acoustic since it really beats up on your fingers if you've never played. Basically I think it trains up your fingers better. If/when you decide to play an electric, it'll mostly be a walk in the park.

4. masterazn

masterazn Banned

If you're not sure if you like it, borrow or buy a cheap acoustic...if you do, go grab a nice electric. But be sure you really want to play, not just something for a few weeks or months and let go. When buying a guitar...there are many many factors to look at. There's just way too many to list here, if you want some really specific help though, PM and we can sort it out.

5. ScanMan

ScanMan IncGamers Member

Hi Zabo,

Go to a music store, look for something cheap that "fits", i.e. feels comfortable when you hold it. Maybe even look at secondhand gutairs that were sold off by people who had the same urge as you and gave up......

I wouldn't invest a lot of money in an electric or a good acoustic until you have passed the basic "commitment" test....you've played your cheap instrument enough and developed enough skills to be limited by the quality of the instument and not by your crappy skills. This will probably take six months to a year.