Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

I just got a fatal windows error

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by samcisnow, May 16, 2008.

  1. samcisnow

    samcisnow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    I just got a fatal windows error

    "Your computer has been shut down to prevent dmg" etc. etc.

    What i want to know is what that problem was because I saw Driver something

    can i look that on the log up
     
  2. Holysinner

    Holysinner IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    If this is the first time the problem has occurred, I wouldn't worry about it too much. Take note of what you were doing at the time (apps running), reboot and move on.

    If this is a recurring problem, yeah, you want to figure out the cause. I don't know which version of Windows you are running, but if it is XP or Vista, yes there may be an entry for the error in the Event Viewer, under the System heading (you can filter for Error entries so you don't have to scroll through a long list of Information entries).

    Even if there is no event listed, there may have been a memory dump created (I think it's enabled by default). They are pretty illegible, but this article will tell you how to run the Dump Check Utility to read it for you, then you can look up the Stop code online for clues as to how to resolve it.
     
  3. BobCox2

    BobCox2 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12,554
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    495
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    I get 1 per day at least but I know it's hardware and why.
    P.S. XP SP3 is out do you have it?
     
  4. samcisnow

    samcisnow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    Nah, this is the same computer from which i posted earlier
    http://forums.diabloii.net/showthread.php?t=655900

    even funnier is now, when i turn on my computer i get this...
    "My computer seems to spontaneously shut off, it's wierd, somedays I can turn it on just fine and then sometimes, when i turn it on, it blinks for a second as if its turning on, then it shuts off and the green light on the front stays lit up, so I usually hold down the power button til its off then flip the power switch on the back, then it turns on and runs fine...

    Sometimes however, it keeps shutting off, even as its loading the bios, so i keep doing those steps..

    this computer has been fine all year, but just couple days ago, this problem kept happening

    help! Thanks


    btw, i start my day off on my computer when its not really hot, so i doubt its a heating problem..."
     
  5. BobCox2

    BobCox2 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12,554
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    495
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    That sounds like power save settings, turn them off in Windows and Bios
     
  6. Holysinner

    Holysinner IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    The intermittent failure to power on looks to me like a loose internal cable connection. It's just a hunch, but (with the power cable disconnected, of course) I'd reseat the cables from the power supply to the motherboard, and the cable from the motherboard to the front panel power button. Heck, while you're in there, blow out the dust and reseat the expansion cards and the cables to the drives (at both ends).

    Edit: Bob could be right, if you're using Standby or Hibernate they are highly problematic (why MS can't finally get those right I will never know). I was assuming this problem occurred after a full shutdown, but if not Hibernate is highly suspect. If you insist on using it, at least disable it, run a defrag, then re-enable it. This will recreate the file used to store the contents of memory.
     
  7. samcisnow

    samcisnow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    Thanks holysinner and bobcox

    BTW: about the loose cable connection, do you know why after a couple of switches to the back PSU and the surge protector, it runs fine?
     
  8. buttershug

    buttershug IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    8,207
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    About ten years ago there was an engineer in Toronto in a high rise office building that would demonstrate how strong office windows are by running at them and bouncing off. One day he popped the window out and went through.

    THAT is a fatal windows error.
     
  9. samcisnow

    samcisnow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    i lawl'd butter
     
  10. mince pies

    mince pies IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: I just got a fatal windows error

    If it was a blue screen that said something like DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL or something similar to that then it could be a virus. I used to get that on my old comp until I done a virus scan
     

Share This Page