Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

I got corrupted :(

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by barren, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. barren

    barren IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    I got corrupted :(

    There I was minding my own business, happily plowing through hell mode with my latest mfer, a cookie cutter blizzballer and I decided it was time to mule off some stuff and beef up my merc. When I save and exit I hit alt+tab then my computer freezes. Poop.

    I restart, go back to logon and notice my blizzballer is nowhere to be seen. Curious I try and open up the character file with atma and sure enough it's corrupt. I've got no backups :( It sucks but i'll get over it, I've got half a dozen other mf sorc and the gear didn't dent my bank. I'm just amazed you can lose a character if your d2 happens to crash during or right after you save and exit.

    So let this be a warning to everyone, backup everything! Cause you never know.
     
  2. Dark Matter

    Dark Matter IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    You should have backups.

    ATMA will have created them in your default D2 save folder.

    ATMA will have named them <character>_?.org

    Just delete the d2s file, and rename the most recently created .org file to become the <character>.d2s

    Example in your C:\Program Files\Diablo II\save folder:
    Code:
    Ineluki.d2s     3kb      D2S File  30/09/2006 16:28
    Ineluki.ma2      271kb   MA2 File 30/09/2006 16:22
    Ineluki_1.org    3kb      ORG File 30/09/2006  16:21
    Ineluki_2.org    3kb      ORG File 30/09/2006  14:04 
     
  3. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,300
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    488
    I back up all of my characters and stashes in a copy of the save folder. And onto my second hard drive.:grin: And onto a USB flash device. :shocked: Perhaps I am too cautious?:undecided:
     
  4. nex

    nex IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    121
    My backups are on 2nd partition, CD-ROM and hard drive of 2nd PC :cool:
     
  5. druidkid9

    druidkid9 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    212
    Your backups should be there barren check your d2 folder again. Otherwise if you did lose your character thats just plain bad luck :(.
     
  6. mr hamster

    mr hamster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Could characters be transferred between computers also? Because I am getting a new computer and want to know if i'll be able to play with the same characters on that new computer...
     
  7. barren

    barren IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    oh, I forgot about that! Thanks a bunch!
     
  8. Jude

    Jude IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    467
    You should be able to. I just burned the Save folder to a CD on my old Mac, and then copied it to my new Mac when I got it, putting it where the Save folder would be in the Diablo II installation in the new computer. Make sure you haven't any new characters you made with your new computer, though, or they will be overwritten by the copied folder. If you have 2 separate Save folders of characters, you can combine them by copying the old ones to the new folder (as long as none of them have the same name). Also, make sure you update Diablo II when you install it on the new computer, or it may not recognize your old characters, if they were made at a higher patch level.

    Jude
     
  9. DarkChaos

    DarkChaos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Unfortunately there is a big chance for the files to get corrupted if you crash while the computer is saving them, because partial save info is written to the files. Lucky for ATMA default auto-backup. :azn:
     
  10. purplelocust

    purplelocust IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing that is worth mentioning is that you can move characters from Mac to PC and vice versa with no problem as well. Just copy the .d2s file to a USB keychain device or email them to yourself and then put the .d2s file in the Save directory on the other computer and you are good to go. For some reason, the map files don't seem to transfer from PC to Mac or vice versa. The actual map will be the same (assuming you start in the same difficulty as before) but your drawing of the map won't be there. Of course, if you remember the layout, it will all seem familar as it is revealed to you.
     

Share This Page