Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

How long until you became a real hardcore player?

Discussion in 'Hardcore' started by SphynxCG, Feb 10, 2004.

1. SphynxCG

SphynxCG IncGamers Member

How long until you became a real hardcore player?

I just started playing hardcore a little over a week ago after playing d2 on and off since it was released. My first necro (fishymancer) made it to level 53 before he died to two cold enchanted boss novas. My second necro (also fishymancer) died to a pk in a trav run. One hit charge. My third and most recent necro died because I didnt take the time to read the label on an urn and it turned out to be evil.

Kind of frustrating but at the same time I don't care much. What I'm wondering is just how long did you have to play hardcore before you felt confident that you knew what you were doing? I feel confident but obviously I am not adequately prepared since I'm dying. Its just the little things - like remembering to check every urn in act 5 to see if its evil.

I dunno, just opening this one to discussion since I really don't feel like a real hardcore player at this point.

2. Stimm

Stimm IncGamers Member

Your a HC player after your first death. As for being confident... the minute you think your doing well ; you ll die, always be on your toes

3. xxsteelxx

xxsteelxx IncGamers Member

welcome to hc :)

I found that everytime i died at first i learned some lesson that made my next char go farther. As long as u learn from your mistakes u will have alot of fun playing hc :)

4. rachil0

rachil0 IncGamers Member

If you took the loss and got back into the game to play more, you're a hardcore player. You'll gain the confidence as your item base improves and you've got a few deaths under your belt. When you get the HC spidey-sense tingle of "gee, I dunno if I can do this", that's when you need to tp back to town and think it out.

5. Blood_And_Iron