Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

How do I socket a damaged bow?

Discussion in 'Theorycrafting and Statistics' started by DiabloLikesMMA, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. DiabloLikesMMA

    DiabloLikesMMA IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    How do I socket a damaged bow?

    I have a damaged mat bow with +3 skills I'd like help in socketing. If I hand it to Larzuk would I get 5 or 4? If I use cube would I get a good chance at 4 or the average 1-5?

    Found in hell cows.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. chenw

    chenw IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    I wouldn't bother with the bow if it is 4 sockets you are after, here is why:

    1. The damage bow has reduced damage so they are less effective at rune words
    2. Larzuk will ALWAYS give the max sockets possible on a white or an ethereal item (limited by ilvl limit, but since you are in hell, it wont matter), so you cannot get anything but 5 sockets with Larzuk. The cube socket recipe does not work for low quality items
    3. Repairing the bow to normal bow will set its ilvl to 1, which means that it can have max of only 3 sockets (source: http://diablo2.diablowiki.net/Sockets), Larzuk and cube would be useless again for 4 sockets.

    TL; DR: Toss the bow, you won't be getting 4 sockets from it
     
  3. minuses

    minuses IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    Why socket a damaged bow? They have damage on the bow so no point in using for runewords anyways.
     
  4. DiabloLikesMMA

    DiabloLikesMMA IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    I just wanted to try it and get 4 sockets out of it. It's got 3 skills on it. Thanks for the reply's
     
  5. Scudstorm

    Scudstorm IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    I wouldn't toss it... Melody is a perfectly fine bow for Fishyzons.
     
  6. DiabloNerd

    DiabloNerd IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    wow im not sure if im understanding this correctly. you have a weapon that has no sockets? And you are looking to add sockets to it? This is possible?:scratchchin:


     
  7. nurman

    nurman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    Thanks for the lulz of the day :thumbup:


     
  8. BKC

    BKC IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    some people really dont know nurm :)

    @diablonerd see this link
     
  9. MartinLong

    MartinLong IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    Yes, by Laz socket quest or cubing recipes.


     
  10. jiansonz

    jiansonz IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    7,940
    Likes Received:
    834
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    I´m with Scudstorm...it looks nice for Melody for an elemental bowazon.
     
  11. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30,238
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    I can currently recall 6 methods to add sockets to items :azn:



     
  12. sirwhere

    sirwhere IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    You can upgrade the item to a normal one with cube recipe

    chipped gem + eld + item

    then you get a normal matriarchal bow, with item level ilvl=1, which you can cube again with

    ral + amn + p.amethyst + item

    to get a random nr. of sockets. You just have to check whether an ilvl=1 mat bow can get 3 or 4 sockets. Also, I don't know whether the 1st recipe can alter the +3 skills. My guess is it DOESNT.
     
  13. Firth

    Firth IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    "Also, I don't know whether the 1st recipe can alter the +3 skills. My guess is it DOESNT."

    It does. I repaired a damaged +3 Grand Matron bow once, changed it to +1 skills.
     
  14. jiansonz

    jiansonz IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    7,940
    Likes Received:
    834
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    Ah, that´s true. It does get rerolled. Forget what I wrote earlier.


    Now, the question is: do the amazon bow automods depend only on ilvl, or do they use alvl (so a high qlvl item will make more than +1 possible). But even if it´s the latter, there are no amazon bows that are high enough in qlvl to allow for +3 bow skills at ilvl 1.

    For example, a Grand Matron Bow has qlvl=78. If item level is lower than 78, then its alvl = 2*78-99 = 57. That is lower than 60 (the alvl for +3 bow skills) so +3 is not possible.

    +2 should be possible, if this is how it works.
     
  15. NoisemakerArrow

    NoisemakerArrow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    I have tried this a while ago in SP, and normalizing an inferior bow with 3 skills will change it to 1 skills.

    What a waste of a chipped gem and an El...
     
  16. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30,238
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    Any procedure which can change the item level will reroll staffmods and automods because a lower ilvl might also mean a narrower selection of them. It doesn't apply just to cube recipes, but also to imbuing by Charsi. I'm not sure about the 3 pgem recipe (which desn't change the ilvl), but I guess that somebody else has tried it already.

    The maximum is 3 then.



     
  17. SnickerSnack

    SnickerSnack IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6,165
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    468
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    DiabloNerd doesn't know you can add sockets to items, something which is clearly available in-game and is mentioned on the AS....this is what we call irony, which is a trope in the field of "lulz".


     
  18. nurman

    nurman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: How do I socket a damaged bow?

    That was a jolly good explanation sir!
    View attachment 187


     

Share This Page