Help! Newbie on Gambling Exceptional/Elite Items!/

Teargrine

Diabloii.Net Member
Help! Newbie on Gambling Exceptional/Elite Items!/

Hey everyone, I am new to Diablo II but have picked it up fairly quickly. I currently play a level 35 Barbarian and I am on quest IV of Act V on normal difficulty. I keep reading about exceptional and elite item qualities which have identical icons to their normal counterparts but are better. In my own mind I see exceptional items that of Nightmare and elite that of Hell. Even saying that I read that exceptional items ARE available in late Act IV and Act V of normal, and I found this to be true, I have found a few exceptional items as drops...but only drops. I read that they can also be gambled but that is rarer. Where I get confused is WHEN can I gamble items based on certain levels? I've looked everywhere and can't seem to find the answers I need. All I think I am sure on is that for a normal item, it is available to show up in my gambling window if it is -5 levels to my character's level or +4 above it. As in at 35, I could potentially see items of level 30-39. I become very confused when at level 35 I cannot seem to find ANY EXCEPTIONAL items when gambling even in that level spans quality level. For example, the Dimensional Blade listed as a quality level of 37. My character is 35, I should be able to gamble it right? Well all I seem to get still are stupid crystal swords ( I have literally bought about 70+ to no avail). When looking into it I found formulas to calculate my chances on finding exceptional items over normal but I didn't understand the variables in them or how to figure them out. What do I truly need to know? What is the difference between clvl, ilvl, and qilvl?

Nimbostratus

Diabloii.Net Member
Re: Help! Newbie on Gambling Exceptional/Elite Items!/