Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Headphone-Computer help, please!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Alex_Str, Feb 28, 2004.

  1. Alex_Str

    Alex_Str Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Headphone-Computer help, please!

    Hi guys, I really need some help, and it will be GREATLY appreciated.

    Sometimes when my parents are asleep, I want to use my headphones on the computer. My CPU tower has a slot where you can insert your headphone (and speaker) into on the bottom right hand side. (There's no slot in my speakers.). Unfortunately, when I stick it into this slot on the bottom right hand side, the sound still comes out of my reg speakers. I've tried sticking my headphones into the back of the computer in place of the normal speakers, and it works fine. But my headphones aren't long enough to reach there.

    It looks like this:
    ____
    |....|
    |....|
    |....|
    |....|
    |....||-------(headphones)

    Is there anything I can do to somehow switch the input from my speakers to the headphones? I have a AC97 card with Altec Lansing speakers, not that it really matters.

    Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. Suicidal Zebra

    Suicidal Zebra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Well...

    First Question:

    Do you get sound in your headphones when they are plugged into the jack on the frond of your PC?

    Second Question:

    Have you investigated the volume controls (doing something like START -> Programs -> Accessories -> Entertainment) for different level settings for line-out and possibly a specific 'headphones' volume setting?

    Third Question:

    Can you just turn the power of your speakers off to stop getting sound?
     
  3. Pierrot le Fou

    Pierrot le Fou IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Use the headphones in the speaker jack. Unplug the speakers, put in the headphones, and presto. Also, check your sound control panels (go into the advanced section) and see if there's a separate headphone option.
     
  4. Alex_Str

    Alex_Str Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1)No, but I get sound when they are plugged into the jack in the back, where the speakers are supposed to go. I have one jack near the CD, no sound, and one near the bottom right hand corner, no sound.

    2)I've looked into volume controls, everything seems there.

    3)I don't get what you mean. If I turn the sound of my speakers off, my headphone still gets no sound, if thats what you asked.
     
  5. Alex_Str

    Alex_Str Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As I have alrady stated in the original post, I tried that, and it works, but the chord is too short to reach to my chair.
     
  6. Pierrot le Fou

    Pierrot le Fou IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    You can buy a headphone extension cord for hellishly cheap. Just FYI.
     
  7. Alex_Str

    Alex_Str Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    REALLY? I thought it was 45 bucks minimum for one of those suckers. :thanks:

    Thanks for the um..suggestions guys. Guess I'll go buy an extension.
     
  8. Mad Merlin

    Mad Merlin IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    You can buy a nice new pair of headphones with a several foot long cord for less than $45... in Canadian dollars!
     
  9. Choogy

    Choogy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    extenders are cheapo...
    my speakers have headphone jack, so it helps me a bit there (and the speakers have a 10 ft cord too....)
     
  10. mysnistaken

    mysnistaken Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on my mobo there was a front audio panel jumper, to enable sound from the front panel i would take out all the jumpers...and vice versa
     

Share This Page