Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by Hello Jim, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. Hello Jim

    Hello Jim IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    I've heard the new patch "fix some minor problems". so as title- Is the Andy Drop Quest is gone? Meph can't be, since it isn't a glitch really, right?
    This is pretty important since my new fireballer (I'm sick of Blizzers) kinda depands on it

    thanks anyway

    PS- Moat Trick still works, right?
     
  2. carnivore

    carnivore IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    sure, they fixed the hundreds of small bugs in the game. you should take a look at the 1.12 patch release information to see what they have done (this part is actually meant seriously).

    no it doesnt, meph can hover over the moat now.



     
  3. SnickerSnack

    SnickerSnack IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6,165
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    468
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Link? I read the patch notes on the Arreat Summit, and no such thing was listed.


     
  4. Uween

    Uween IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    No they didn't.
    Someone should post a sticky on this or whatever:
    If you read the release notes carefully (patch.txt in your install folder), you will see that it's very long, and seperated at intervals by numbers such as 1.12, 1.11b, 1.11, 1.10 etc... All the notes between a certain number and the next belong to the patch of that number. This unfortunately means that all of these rumours of '10 new runewords' and bug fixes are not so much untrue, but anachronistic - these were implemented in the 1.11b patch and before, and have been around since.

    The only changes that blizzard have announced the 1.12 patch has made is the nocd and a fix with mac.
     
  5. Are

    Are IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
  6. carnivore

    carnivore IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    sorry, i know i should have set ironie tags...
     
  7. SnickerSnack

    SnickerSnack IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6,165
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    468
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Yeah, I think I see your irony now that I'm looking for it. Pretty subtle though. I really didn't see it the first time.
     
  8. Uween

    Uween IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Meh, sorry, too subtle for me on a saturday morning :p

    ----
     
  9. DrRogern

    DrRogern IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Blizzard only cares about the money, not the players...


     
  10. pacel

    pacel IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Which is why they still update a game thats 8+ years old.
     
  11. carnivore

    carnivore IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    i seriously doubt that d2 generates any positive income for blizz. the only gain on their side is to demonstrate long time support and THAT will bring them money in the future.
     
  12. Merick

    Merick IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Yes, the no CD and mac bug fix will bring lots of money and annoy lots of players, it's the perfect plan! :jig:



     
  13. Selway

    Selway IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Such a silly thing to say. Of course they care. We are lucky they even continue to support diablo II on battlenet still. Naw, Blizzard goes far beyond nearly any other gaming company imo.


     
  14. carnivore

    carnivore IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Blizzard is the gaming company with the highest percentual profit worldwide and one of the top earners in the business (with vivendi, of which they generate the major share of income).
    these infos are from a german comp game magazine i read a few month ago ; i dont remember the exact figures at the moment.



     
  15. paul leung

    paul leung IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    212
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    I can't help to think that if there are so many people selling dupe hr /item for real money, why b.net not take a share of those market?
     
  16. Selway

    Selway IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    I take it you are implying that they only care about money as well too. The primary reason why they are one of the top earning gaming companies is because they put out products the customers love. To say they only care about money and not their customers is a pretty ignorant thing to say.


     
  17. Arkansaw

    Arkansaw Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    Because it is not something they intended to happen? although they are unable to eradicate it due to either the lack of an efficient and practical method, or limitation of technology. Diablo was already a pretty old game by the time of the last Ruststorm or major exercise to fix the dupes, and even that had only limited success. People are still able to generate lag, and lag is still pretty effective for duping.



     
  18. carnivore

    carnivore IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    and you should have read my post before the last one.
    actually i was mentioning Blizzards financial succuess for the reason, that they normally couldnt care less about a game like D2, that most likely doesnt genererate any additional profit anymore, especially such an old one. nevertheless they let it run.



     
  19. Hello Jim

    Hello Jim IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    OK, between the irony and being serious I didn't really get my answer.
    in the patch list/thread in this forum it says:
    "Bug Fixes"

    Now, "Bug" is a big word. Irony aside- Is the Andy quest drop glitch+moat trick works?

    Thank you, sorry for the supidity.
     
  20. Are

    Are IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Have they fixed the Drop Quest Glitch?

    "Bug Fixes" is the header for the line:

    - Fixed an incompatibility between Rosetta and OpenGL mode on Intel Mac.


    That is the only bug that was fixed in the 1.12 patch.
     

Share This Page