Hardcore NM Meph without MF- worth the trouble?

lpblasch

Diabloii.Net Member
Hardcore NM Meph without MF- worth the trouble?

Here's the situation:
I'm fairly new to Hardcore, so I'm item poor at the moment. I have finally gotten a character to NM Act 3, so I'm thinking of doing some Meph runs to increase the inventory. BUT: I have zero MF gear to wear.

So, I know Meph drops decent stuff compared to other bosses, but is it worth the time and risk (considering those freaking lightning fast Stygian dolls that dart in and half empty your bottle) in Hardcore to farm him if I don't have any MF gear?

roninDOG

Diabloii.Net Member
Do some shopping and grab a pair of mf gloves or boots. Or get a few toapzes in some socketed gear. If you can get from 50-100 mf it will make a HUGE difference. Otherwise I think your farming wont turn out nearly as good.

As for HC, if you can take mef easily then hes worth farming a bit. If you cant, not worth it just move on IMO and run Baal to level up before hell.

-roninDOG

Sir Lister of Smeg

Diabloii.Net Member
Even without the magic find gear, he drops good, and he might just drop the magic find gear you need. But survival is the key in hardcore, don't sacrifice survivability (and thus your character) for magic find. You could also try to run the countess or andariel first, the former for runes (a rhyme shield is very good if you don't have it yet, faster blocking, higher blocking, resistances, and a bit of magic find), the latter for items (worse items than meph in general, but the highest chance for for example a stone of jordan, better than meph for jewelry in general). Also, you might just continue questing for a while, and after you gained some levels go back to haunt meph, it will be a lot easier then.

Llathias

Banned