Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

gem management

Discussion in 'Theorycrafting and Statistics' started by Klapse, May 16, 2008.

1. Klapse

Klapse IncGamers Member

gem management

hi there

Im kinda new to D2 on a more serious level.

I have been looking at the cube recipes, runewords and upgrades etc and i must admit i am beyound confused :p
    from my virgin eyes view on the different recipes, it looks as if i need to keep not only all the different runes, but also all the different gems and what worse is all the different qualities of the specific... :(
    Can this really be? Or, does someone have a tip as to which gems/runes i can keep and which i can vendor?
    I am lvling a barb, current lvl is 33
    hope u can help me, thx in advance :)

2. krischan

krischan Europe Trade Moderator

Re: gem management

It's only worth it to keep and cube up the flawless gems to perfect. Leave the rest on the ground when you have 1-2 of the lower ones needed to cube up runes like Dol, Io, Lum and Fal (at L33 you probably never found thsee so far, however). I nearly never cube up any other runes and as I'm already about it, I don't pick up any runes below Tal, except I need them for a runeword.

What to do with the gems: Gems (including skulls) are usually used for rerolling grand charms from beyond the Spider Forest in nightmare act 3 or from hell Diablo, Nihlathak or Baal with the 3 pgems recipe, but perfect amethysts or rubies are often used for popular crafting recipes. You aren't at a point yet where you will benefit from that in a satisfying manner, so it's better to sell them for runes or for items you want to have.

3. Klapse

Klapse IncGamers Member

first of all, thx for helping
    do u use mules to carry all your gems etc? i cant else imagine how u would carry all those items :p