Games Newbies Play

SourImplant

Diabloii.Net Member
Games Newbies Play

I live with my brother, who's been playing Diablo 2 just about every day since it came out. You may remember that I'm pretty new to the game, and I've noticed a few differences between the way I play and the way he plays. See if anything here sounds familiar to your days as a noob:

I once read that the people who designed Diablo 2 honestly had no idea people would specialize their character classes and choose to max out a handful of skills and generally ignore the rest. The Assassin I'm playing now (level 52 in Nightmare Act 2 now, a personal best) is the first character I've played using that method. Every character I've had before that had a couple points in every skill. Needless to say, doing 200 damage with my previous characters was a lofty ambition.

Watching my brother play, I've noticed that he picks up only a few items: mainly armor, rings, and +skills items. He leaves the rest sitting on the ground. I usually pick up anything not bolted down and go through Town Portal Tomes like water. Maybe there's a reason why he gets through the game a lot faster than I do.

The closest thing I have to any kind of strategy is usually the way I arrange my inventory. A Tome of Town Portal and a Tome of Identify, my Horadric Cube, one slot for keys (actually, I found that Assassins don't use keys, but it's still a habit picking them up), two rows of charms (it doesn't really matter what those charms do, as long as they fit neatly into the space I have assigned for them) and a row of mana potions (because laying down five traps for every Fallen you see isn't overkill, it's being cautious).

If I come across a class-specific item, I'll usually equip it even if it isn't the most useful thing I have. I don't know why. It just feels right.