Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

game wont launch

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Patch Bug Reports & Suggestions' started by Lothos, Jan 31, 2004.

  1. Lothos

    Lothos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    game wont launch

    Ok, since the 1.10 patch I have had extreme issues with launching the game. Most of the time it fails to launch because of the cd check, which appears to be the culprit since the patch. On a few instances it can launch fine with no changes on my part. Blazzard has been absolutely useless in helping solve this issue. No cd cracks won't work for me as they fail to be recognized on Bnet as a proper version. I'm running win2k sp4 fully patched on a built system with an Asus a7s333 motherboard bios 1006, 48/24/48a plextor cdrw, soundblaster audigy, Gainward ti4200 video. I'm upgraded firmware on the cdrw and have also eliminated everything possible from the background that could possibly be affecting this. Anyone have a clue or have the same problems?
     
  2. PikachuMolester2003

    PikachuMolester2003 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Tried a virtual cd drive?
     
  3. Lothos

    Lothos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    That where you just copy the cd to a folder and point the registry to it?
     
  4. 694095

    694095 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Have you tried reinstalling D2? Most major bugs I have come accross have been fixed by cleaning out all D2 content, save single player chars, and installing diablo fresh again. Make sure also you do not have any 3rd party programs D2 related, like cracks and hacks of the like. Not only is it a bad idea to have them in the first place, 1.10 doesnt work with any of the old ones.
     
  5. Lothos

    Lothos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    I've reformatted and reinstalled twice just trying to fix this and nothing has worked. I am now trying Virtualdrive 8 and that is having the same issues the normal cdrom drive is having, so it must be a problem executing the cd check with the game.exe
     
  6. FishRazor

    FishRazor IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Since last night I cant log into any accts. I visited them yesterday and opened characters on all to renew them due to expiration warning and now cant access any of them....................help
     
  7. BuddySativa

    BuddySativa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Play Zelda :)
     
  8. Crimh

    Crimh IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I have a similar problem.

    1.09 worked perfectly, but..

    I can install D2 + LoD, start it and download the patch, no problems. But once 1.10 has been installed, I can't start LoD anymore. The CD spins up but nothing more happens and most of the times my system locks up completely, ie forcing me to reboot. Yeah, I asked Blizzard about it, but hey..It's Blizzard, so no it didn't work. Fun part is though, 1.10 beta worked, but this 'real' patch doesn't.
     
  9. alitz2020

    alitz2020 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Same thing is happening to me..CD worked fine until A day or 2 ago, cd just spins now and it usually ends up with me rebooting the comp. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this?
     
  10. diablito

    diablito IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ditto

    I installed Diablo II and the expansion set last weekend and it quit working this morning. Everytime I try to launch it I get an "unhandled exception" error and my CD is not available until I re-boot. (the CD drive works fine until I try to launch Diablo II).

    Any ideas, leverage w/Blizzard or patches greatly appreciated.
     

Share This Page