Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Game history and fan reaction questions

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 General Discussion' started by Lord Mhoram, Mar 2, 2015.

1. Lord Mhoram

Lord Mhoram IncGamers Member

I am new to the series with Diablo 3. I am also a console player - never having played ARPGs on a PC. So I have a lot of missing history on the series. My main question is outside Lore.

I know many really think this is a bad game compared to Diablo II. Having never played 2, I don't understand why, and was curious. I also know that some Devs left, and others took over that may have affected the game. As Diablo 3 has become my second favorite game of the last 20 years, I'm curious on these opinions - I don't have any issues with the game- but then if it didn't fit expectations, I can understand.

Hope not to start anything flamish - but saw a lot of negative reaction to the game at Battlenet, and just don't get why (other than human nature).

2. LukDeRiff

LukDeRiff IncGamers Member

In my opinion most of it is just your run of the mill internet hate that does not need any particular reason to exist.

Other than that there are a bunch of reasons why players who played Diablo 2 dislike Diablo 3. Some of it is surely nostalgia. For many people Diablo 2 was the first ARPG that they played seriously and thus they had some "first time experiences" that you can not replicate.

Another major reason for the bitterness is that the expectations and the hype for Diablo 3 at the time were surreal and while it was a very good game (imo) it couldn't live up to the expectations for a variety of reasons. Listing them all would take far too long but I can give you some of the major reasons.