Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Friendly reminder

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Geeno, May 14, 2005.

  1. Geeno

    Geeno IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    346
    Friendly reminder

    The new FireFox patch is out, I know I used to miss things like this if people didnt straight up tell me so gogo security!

    It appears as though adblock hasnt been updated yet... err.. not that I use an adblocker or anything :thumbsup:
     
  2. Twoflower

    Twoflower Banned

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    good point, thx
     
  3. Savage

    Savage IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Ahh yes, thanks.
     
  4. greatrambino1981

    greatrambino1981 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for the heads up :thumbsup:
     
  5. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Thanks Geeno, downloading the update now. Any new useful features I should know about?
     
  6. SelfBaisResistor

    SelfBaisResistor IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    As long as this is a friendly reminder thread... You all should remember to reload your avatars. It looks rather ugly around here with all those messed up, blocky avatars.
     
  7. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    This is like the 3rd firefox update in 3 months. And I don't really see any difference...
     
  8. Jigga-Scrooge

    Jigga-Scrooge IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,336
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    255
    cant you just look in the top right corner for a red thing?
     
  9. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    I don't think the thing in the top right corner works for finding new versions. At least, I didn't have anything up there to click this time around. I know I have before though.
     
  10. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    it works but usually a firefox popup appears saying that there are new updates to download.
     
  11. Merick

    Merick IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Also, don't forget to take the batteries out your fire alarms and to unlock your doors.
     
  12. Stevinator

    Stevinator IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    5,003
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    347
    I'm actaully going to let mine keep getting distorted to see if it starts to look like anything after a while. maybe it will look like the virgin mary and I can sell it on ebay for mega-$$$ to some crazy casino!

    or maybe I'm lazy and can't find a 'tar i like.
     
  13. Geeno

    Geeno IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    346
    Yeah i like mine better scrambled too. Like eggs! :clap: :thumbsup: :clap:
     
  14. Amra

    Amra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,255
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    472
    props Geeno. I hadn't noticed that.

    :thumbsup:
     
  15. nrabbit

    nrabbit IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    is firefox good? :confused: i have heard a lot about it but dont't have it yet
     
  16. rare

    rare IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    165
    i think the users here have a SLIGHT preference toward firefox. it's not like there's been 3-4 threads just about firefox alone and it's tiny advantages over IE.

    :p No, its really good and convenient. try it out, maybe you'll like it too.
     
  17. Twoflower

    Twoflower Banned

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    speaking of firefox, i heared this today, and it helps me alot ! :

    Speed up your Firefox browser on a broadband connection....

    1.Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return.
    Scroll down and look for the following entries:
    network.http.pipelining
    network.http.proxy.pipelining
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests
    Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a
    time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once,
    which really speeds up page loading.

    Alter the entries as follows:
    Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"
    Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"
    Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30.
    This means it will make 30 requests at once.

    Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This
    value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts
    on information it receives. If you're using a broadband
    connection you'll load pages MUCH faster now!
     
  18. Nword

    Nword Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what i've been reading, Firefox 1.1 should be coming soon and will some new features *shrug*...

    It's good enough that I'm proud to wear my firefox hat... :D
     
  19. rare

    rare IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    165
    this works best only if youre using broadband, and for me personally it's already fast enough. 56k users would benefit from something like this the most, too bad there's like no difference in speed if you do this on 56k.

    let me know if someone that's using 56k saw a big difference, that'd be great. i tried these steps on my firefox (with broadband) and saw like no difference =\ .
     

Share This Page