Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Extra experience in multiplayer?

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by mihaelre, May 6, 2008.

1. mihaelre

mihaelre IncGamers Member

Extra experience in multiplayer?

Hello,

I've read at Arreat Summit that the more players are in the game, the more experience and health the monsters have and give. But, when my cousin and I started playing in a LAN over TCP/IP in D2 in a party co-op mode, I didn't see that monsters give more experience or have more life, though there were two players now in a game. We were even on the same area. So, does LAN play over TCP/IP even counts as multiplayer :tongue:? Maybe that's why it didn't work.

The formula for monsters' life: Life = Hit Points * Number of Players in the Game

The formula for XP: Experience = X * (n + 1) / 2, where X = base experience and n = number of players in the game

(these were copy-pasted from Arreat Summit)

PS.
    Experience sharing in a party works fine, but extra xp and life don't. When we are in a party and when we are close to each other we share xp, and monsters give 35% more xp than usual (as stated at Arreat Summit). But when we're not close to each other, I get only base xp like I was playing in single player (and I don't get the impression that monsters have more life, either). I believe that those xp additions should be cumulative, that is, if there are two players which are also in a party, and if Fallen gives 18 xp in a single player game, he should now give 18*(2+1)/2 = 27 xp, and + 35%, because we are close = 36 xp, but since we are in a party, because of xp share, my cousin and I each get 36/2 = 18 xp. I my case, looks like the game skips this: 18*(2+1)/2 = 27 and only adds +35% to 18, not 27, so we both get only 12 xp.
    Why is that?

I hope I didn't complicate things very much! :smiley:
    I have v1.11b.

Thanks,
    Regards!

2. Spoochie

Spoochie IncGamers Member