Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Estiah: Browser-based MMO/CCG

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Jabari, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Jabari

Jabari Diabloii.Net Member

Estiah: Browser-based MMO/CCG

I've been playing Estiah for about 8 months now - fun little game. If you've played CCGs before, you'll think of it like that, if not then you'll probably think of it as an MMO.

Stole this description from Maintankadin and added a few small things to it:

So, "browser game" and "MMORPG" seems like a terrible combination at first glance, but this is actually really well done. There's a lot of depth to it, but the learning curve is quite gentle for a game that's so detailed.

It's different from a lot of browser games in some very notable and very positive ways.

1) Time investment. Logging on twice a day for 10 minutes is about as hardcore as this game gets. Limited turns per day, and a completely automated combat system mean you can log in as infrequently as you like. Assuming you only play 1 character.

2) Premium content. There is none. Or rather, none that has any impact on game balance. You can still donate if you like, but you don't get any power boosts, extra turns, or anything like that. All rewards for donations are purely convenience / vanity things.

3) Farm alts / cheating. A lot of otherwise promising browser games are marred by people either creating large swarms of alts to farm, or to give themselves referral credit, etc. MyBrute was a pretty classic example. In Estiah, the benefits for doing this are very minimal - you can't trade money or items between characters at all.

In those regards, it's something that you can enjoy very casually. Success comes from understanding how the game combat works, and through properly exploiting synergy and probability, rather than a flat out time investment.