Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Didn't see a tech problems forum

Discussion in 'Hardcore' started by 0takuPryd3, Mar 8, 2004.

  1. 0takuPryd3

    0takuPryd3 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didn't see a tech problems forum

    but I have a problem at my dad's. Whenever I play, it works for about 5 minutes and then freezes. Standard procedures (alt-tab, alt-f4, ctrl-alt-delete, ctrl-break) don't work, so I restart. The same thing happens, over and over. Any ideas as to what's wrong and how I could fix it?
     
  2. rAOL

    rAOL IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mayb if you gave the specs of the computer people would be able to help you better.
     
  3. 0takuPryd3

    0takuPryd3 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've given up, but the specs are far beyond the requirements. 512 mb ram/1.7 ghz/64 mb graphics card etc.
     
  4. Cleglaw_Himself

    Cleglaw_Himself IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Diagnosis of problem: No idea.

    My treatment: Reinstall.
     
  5. doubleOObubble

    doubleOObubble IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Possible errors:

    * Over heating. Try and see if your graphics card has a thermometer (desktop->properties->settings->advanced...).

    * Also, open the bios and see if the mother board has a thermometer.

    * It could also be some sort of virus, so run a check.

    * Install latest graphics drivers.

    * Run a windows update, there are quite a few safety-holes as it is.

    Good luck!
     
  6. BattleCookie

    BattleCookie IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hiho,

    Im having the same problem sometimes. My game just freezes when i try to click one of my characters in the character selection. No way to exit the game then. So its power off -> restart.

    But what maybe can help you. If that happens it seems to help if you start the game in window mode. Then i can select my char, exit the game, restart in normal mode and everything works fine.

    I tried posting in the bnet support forums, but noone could help. I also reinstalled the game and complete windows, but that didnt help.

    Hope it helps a bit.
    Cookie

    EDIT: no virus, not to hot, latest drivers ... tried all but didnt help.
     
  7. hc_ugajeremy

    hc_ugajeremy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would go to Microsoft's Windows update page here and check to make sure that all the driver updates are done and that he has the latest version of directx, although it should at least work with version 8.

    The two drivers you need to sure of are the obvious ones, sound and video. If it's an ATI card then there are available drivers from previous versions that are known to work. Here's a link from ATI's page drivers

    Hope this helps, if not, continue posting or send Blizzard an email to the address here .

    J
     
  8. 0takuPryd3

    0takuPryd3 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not going back until next weekend but when I anm therer I will try all of this stuff out and see if it works.
     

Share This Page