Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Diablo freezing like no other

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by I-bring-realm-down, Oct 10, 2006.

  1. I-bring-realm-down

    I-bring-realm-down Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Diablo freezing like no other

    For some reason, diablo has been freezing at least 10 times a night. It does not freeze on my laptop though. Sometimes I can get back into windows, sometimes it is a cold restart. Sometimes I hear like a skipping sound, sometimes I can hear the game as usual but frozen. I play with the cd in and it freezes and I even take it out when I get onto Bnet and it freezes. here are my specs:

    Windows xp home SP2
    Athlon 64 3200+
    2 gb pc3200 ram
    250gb hitachi hdd
    geforce 7800gt 256mb

    Thanks!
     
  2. Orphan

    Orphan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    The next time it freezes, wait about 5 seconds, click the right-mouse button once or twice and try to ALT+Tab out of the game. There should be an error message in the background. Instead of pressing ALT+Tab, you could press the spacebar, but this will close down D2 and the error message as well (if one exist).
     
  3. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    download spybot, adaware and hijackthis to check for any bad programs that may be running in the background
     
  4. I-bring-realm-down

    I-bring-realm-down Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have all those and I run them every night. I even uninstalled and reinstalled diablo. it has been doing this for a while and still does it even after I formatted my hdd and reinstalled windows, so I have no idea what to do next.
     
  5. ModeratelyConfused

    ModeratelyConfused Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you run it in windowed mode?
     
  6. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    only other thing might be failing hardware, can you run 3dmark or pcmark without any errors?
     
  7. I-bring-realm-down

    I-bring-realm-down Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not running in windowed mode and all my other games run just fine. I was able to play for a bit after reinstalling diablo. Will see how it holds up now :)
     

Share This Page