Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Diablo 2 on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by erickeeper, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. erickeeper

    erickeeper IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    Can someone confirm if this works or not before I buy an extra copy for the new laptop?

    Thanks.
     
  2. IncubatorJones

    IncubatorJones IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    121
    Re: Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    It works alright for me atleast
     
  3. TurbulentTurtle

    TurbulentTurtle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,415
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    Yeah it's working fine for me, no problems at all.
    I just installed it regularly like I would on any other OS too.
     
  4. TyrantWave

    TyrantWave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Re: Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    Works perfectly on 7.
    Also works perfectly on Vista, despite people claiming it doesn't. </unrelated>
     
  5. jimmah

    jimmah IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    It works perfectly IF I right click the icon and check "disable desktop composition" (disables aero when the game runs).
     
  6. Arkansaw

    Arkansaw Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    You have to understand that Diablo was not designed for such futuristic systems, whether it will act weird depends on your luck with hardware drivers and whatnot
     
  7. Damric

    Damric IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    It works, but I find that installation and patching is a real pain. I reccomend registering your cd key with blizzard and just downloading it off of the battle.net account. It takes a bit to download, but overall it is less hassle because they give you a version that works with windows 7.

    Be sure to "run as administrator"

    It seems to run smoother in window mode.
     
  8. wickedswami

    wickedswami IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Diablo 2 on Windows 7

    sven's glidewrapper helps tons as well. Google it.
     

Share This Page