Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Demo : will or won't be one?

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 General Discussion' started by Barabas, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. Barabas

    Barabas IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Demo : will or won't be one?

    What do you think ?
    They'll release a demo before releasing the game , or the'll keep the pleasure to a full game playing ?
     
  2. Swiffer

    Swiffer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    Nobody knows, they havn't said.

    Do Blizzard do demos? They have done in the past.
    Will they do it for Diablo 3? Anybodys guess.
     
  3. Orphan

    Orphan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7,264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    I think it's very possible that they will release a demo. There was one for Diablo 2 (had up to Bloodraven going from memory) as well as Diablo 1 (can't remember how far that went up to) so it would make sense to put one out for D3 as well.
     
  4. ThulRasha

    ThulRasha Diablo: IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    Blizzard has never released a playable demo before the release of the game.
     
  5. glenthemann

    glenthemann IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    they have however had public beta testing, ie. warcraft 3.
     
  6. jamesisbest

    jamesisbest IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    Blizzard will most likely have a demo perhaps labeled as "open beta." Diablo 2 did have a playable demo and yes all it had was rogue encampment, blood moor, the den of evil, cold plains, and burial grounds. WoW also had an "open beta" I forget how much of the game people were able to do in it though. Also WoW does have 14 day trials which is a bit like a demo though Diablo 3 won't have anything like that unless there is pay to play which I doubt they will have.
     
  7. Pitboss_2000

    Pitboss_2000 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    The Butcher was the end Boss for the demo. :)



     
  8. mouseman

    mouseman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    Diablo2 stresstest was firstly to test battle.net capacity, not the game. Even the stresstest was closed, they send e-mails to 200 000 people who wanted it. I'm not sure if that's the correct figure, but something like that. It was up to blood raven only, so no content testing, really.

    D1 demo was up to butcher, which was actually 1/8 of the normal game. (2 levels out of 16). This makes you realize how much bigger D2 is.

    D1 beta was more promotional, since it was really something different and the first Diablo game at the time. D2 "beta" was to test the battle.net. I think they'll get the battle.net 2 working with SC2 so there won't be any need for beta for D3, right? Just massive closed content testing if the game is same size/bigger than D2.

    So my guess is no. But I still hope for it :)
     
  9. Maedhros

    Maedhros IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Demo : will or won't be one?

    Yea I think they will. They released demos for Wc3 so why not. It would be great if they would, because I could test if my computer could handle it :)
     

Share This Page