Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Damn slow start of Diablo II

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Patch Bug Reports & Suggestions' started by terokorhonen, Mar 21, 2004.

  1. terokorhonen

    terokorhonen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Damn slow start of Diablo II

    Well, I just got my Diablo II from my cousin and I of course wanted to have a test drive. Then, Diablo II took 10 to 15 minutes to go to intro. When I was in the start menu, and chose my save, it took 10 to 15 minutes to go Loading-section. After 10 secs I was finally in the game! :winner: . I'm almost 100 percent sure, that my computer will run it well. But it dont. Heres my computers techical data:
    Intel (R) 1700 mhz
    Windows XP Home Edition
    256 mt ram
    Samsung's 129 mt hard drive

    So, what you think?Why doesn't my Diablo II work properly.
     
  2. Vizier

    Vizier IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    It may have tons of spyware running on the machine like many browsing machines do nowadays. Try running Spybot Search & Destroy on it and see if it finds anything.
     
  3. Yavanna

    Yavanna IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Could be worse. I've found a Warcraft III bug where the game starts and then shrinks itself, like you hit Alt+Tab, and it's impossible to restore it.
     
  4. terokorhonen

    terokorhonen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Vizier, would Ad-Ware 6.0-program run the same thing as Spybot Search & Destroy?
     
  5. Yavanna

    Yavanna IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    An antivirus program can do the same thing. I think Norton is the worst offender. Turn it off before playing and see if that helps.
     
  6. PikachuMolester2003

    PikachuMolester2003 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Defragment the hard drive as well.
    (In My Computer, right click the drive, select tools, then "Defragment now -it can take a while depending on the drive size/speed).

    Also, you can disable the into screens by adding -skiptobnet in the target box.
    (directions are here http://www.diabloii.net/faq/d2x-ufaq.shtml#commands-start )
     

Share This Page