Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

D2 installed/plays perfect LOD wont install

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by pontiactempest, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. pontiactempest

    pontiactempest Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    D2 installed/plays perfect LOD wont install

    Hey, ive been a fan of D2 for a long time. I have it installed perfectly fine on a desktop and a lap top. both with XP but i am trying to install it on my laptop which unfortunatly has Vista.

    D2 installed fine with out changing compatibility but when i went to isntall LOD it gets to d2exp.mpg on the install and then asks for the expansion disk which is already in the drive. i opened it then put it back in, it spins up then stops and the same message pops up. I disabled UAC because that kept popping up. i also installed 1.13c for D2 hoping that might help the install of LOD. not sure what else to do besides reinstalling D2 and trying again, i cant find anything else for this situation. and i know people play this on Vista with little to no problems. i also tired the digital download through the blizzard website. it says my cd key is invalid. thank you
     
  2. nurman

    nurman Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: D2 installed/plays perfect LOD wont install

    Register your CD-keys @Battle.net (www.battle.net , make an account if you do not already have one), download the installer and install the game from it.
     
  3. pontiactempest

    pontiactempest Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: D2 installed/plays perfect LOD wont install

    yes i already tried it. i registered along time ago and it wouldnt download because it said my cd key is invalid.i know its not because its the same key i used on my 2 other computers
     
  4. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
  5. Ladvarian

    Ladvarian Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Re: D2 installed/plays perfect LOD wont install

    You did say that it is installed on the xp machine right? If you have a previous install, OS does not matter, you can just copy the folder from one computer to the other. Since 1.12a the CD does not need to be in the drive any more, this enables you to copy the folder and run it as if it were installed on the computer. Just copy it to your Program Files (x86) folder if you have 64bit vista and Program Files if its 32bit vista.

    Note this works on single player, but should work on b.net as well. I hope. Good luck trying to clean the disc if it does not.
     
  6. pontiactempest

    pontiactempest Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: D2 installed/plays perfect LOD wont install

    thanks for the replies. the disk is clean also it is almost brand new. i got it to work i uninstalled everything and reinstalled it then DLED it from bnet and it worked. i appreciate all your replies. Ladvarian i will keep what you said in mind also for next time. thanks again
     

Share This Page