Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Computer Question

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by hacchantal, Sep 30, 2006.

  1. hacchantal

    hacchantal IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Computer Question

    So, I was wondering; when you empty your recycling bin, where do those files go? Do they actually get thrown right off your computer? I heard from someone that they are still on the comp, but it's in the depths of it - lol. So, if anyone knows, I would like to look back on the things I've deleted (Especially pictures)

    Thanks for the help :smiley:

    -Crh
     
  2. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The file system just marks the parts of the HD where the files were as empty. They aren't fully gone until they get overwritten with new data.
     
  3. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    they are actually still on your computer and there are programs that can restore them but not everything you delete are guaranteed to be able to be restored. Eventually they will be truly deleted when you replace them with other files that you save onto your computer.
     
  4. hacchantal

    hacchantal IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Ohhh okay, thanks guys. So I'd need some programs and such to get at them?
     
  5. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
  6. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    I remember I used to use Undelete with DOS, I don't think it works under Windows though. And like KOW and mhl12 said, once parts of the file get overwritten you can't restore it (well you can, but it'll probably be non-functional).
     

Share This Page