Computer Help, please...

nosoup4crr

Diabloii.Net Member
Computer Help, please...

Okay...so starting this morning, I noticed that every now and then, when I was involved in something tasking the computer (multiple window web-browsing, playing a computer game), that my computer was making a strange noise. Whatever you call that little green light that flashes at a rate correlative to how much CPU usage you've got going on was going crazy. About 4 hours ago, I got the blue screen. I have since gotten it a few more times. The new noise and crashing have happened without reason. I've not downloaded anything new.

I'm assuming that it's a hardware problem and not a virus. Of course, I have little knowledge of computers--I'm basing this assumption simply on the fact that new noises should (in my mind) mean a physical problem. How do I go about finding out what part of my computer has died? Furthermore, if anyone is especially knowledgeable about computers and might be able to help me out further, should I provide more information, please let me know. I need this taken care of ASAP.

Lord Nyax

Banned
Try defragging? Generally I clean up my hard drive, check it for errors, and defrag it at least once a month (I've heard that you're supposed to do it ~every week...screw that).

Good luck.

ffejrxx

Diabloii.Net Member
defraging a bad hd can cause more problems
run windows scandisk utility

My computer, right-click the drive, Properties, Tools, Check Now..., Select Options, Start.

or something like that, gl with it

best buy has a 250g seagate hd on sale for $89, if you can find a coupon for 10% off its only around $86 after tax, DONT LET GS INSTALL IT

bg1256

Diabloii.Net Member
Don't mean to state the obvious, but make sure to back up your data sometime soon...:idea:

nosoup4crr

Diabloii.Net Member
point of reference...when starting up, it says:

"Boot from floppy...not found"
"Boot from CDROM...not found"

I think this is different from what used to happen

ffejrxx