Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

choosing a career

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by dirkdig, Oct 2, 2006.

1. dirkdig

dirkdig IncGamers Member

choosing a career

I'm going through my senior year of college, and have no idea what I want to do after I graduate. Can anyone give me advice on how they narrowed down potential career paths?

2. Croup

Croup IncGamers Member

Well, I graduated in 2005 with a BA in Political Science. After that, I took a year off (from high academia at least) and lived with two friends while working a couple of random jobs to save some money and make ends meet.

During that time, I realized that I did like political science after all and wanted to make a career of sorts out of it. So starting just a month ago, I'm in a Masters program at UConn and plan to follow it through to a PhD in order to become a professor.

Now, I don't know if that'll actually happen. I could get fed up with all of it (already started to in some areas), I could find something more interesting, or I could just fail at it (although I doubt that part). My advice though is to not do anything because you're "supposed to." If I had done that straight out of undergrad, I wouldn't have gotten as much out of grad school and might have given up on it due to a lack of interest. You're much better off coming to that realization of what you like to do on your own, rather than forcing yourself to do something and turn yourself off of it.

That isn't a simple formula where you do something to fix everything, I know. But it's really the best way to do things. See if you have some friends that would be willing to live together and find a random job that you don't mind doing for a while so that you can think about what you REALLY want to do.

3. Sokar Rostau

Sokar Rostau IncGamers Member

Seconded.