Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

chess help

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by eds01, Mar 25, 2004.

1. eds01

eds01 IncGamers Member

chess help

i recently started playing chess. i know all the rules and some basic things, like you should try to controle the center of the board, but would appreciated additional help. if any of you know good chess stratogies and things to try in my next game, plz post.

2. bigD72

bigD72 IncGamers Member

I am feeling really lazy, but I found a nice site by Princeton (maybe Harvard?), do a search Princeton chess.

3. {KOW}Spazed

{KOW}Spazed Banned

Search Google?

Otherwise kick'em in the shins and run.

4. bigD72

bigD72 IncGamers Member

5. Steve_Kow

Steve_Kow Banned

Try to determine how your opponent plays, which pieces he is partial to and eliminate them early.

6. Alex_Str

Alex_Str Banned

Sorry dude, Chess aint like Ping Pong where you can learn it in two days. I've spent 7 years playing the game, and I'm only like a 1700 rating on Yahoo. If you really wanna get good go get some books. "The Amateurs Mind" and "Reasses your Chess" by Silman are great places to start. Good luck.

7. llad12

llad12 IncGamers Member

Once you have learned the basic openings and can develop your pieces and get into the middle game on an even par with your opponent, then you must look for winning combinations through forcing moves.

Research the pin, fork, discovered attack, double attack, priority of check, etc. and how they are used. Once you learn these tactics, look for forcing moves (eg., captures, checks, etc.) that makes your opponent respond. Use those moves to force him into your winning combination.

There are many good chess books with exercises that will help you advance if you wish to spend the effort.

8. jimmyboy

jimmyboy IncGamers Member

Distract your opponent, then take two moves while pretending to only take one. That's always help me.