Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Changing name....

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by Houdini_Master, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. Houdini_Master

    Houdini_Master IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Changing name....

    I started playing single player with an off the wall name thinking I was just gonna try the character out but in fact have now kept and keep playing with him. My question is, I want to change the name but don't want to start a new character how do I do this or is it possible. :scratch:
     
  2. Voldemort

    Voldemort IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    62
    if you browse in you diablo2 folder you should see the name of your character somewhere in there. Rename it to what u want but make sure u rename all the files to the same name.
    I would think it should work.
     
  3. Shade

    Shade IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    165
    If you do this, the game won't load ('Generic Bad File', IIRC) - it stores the character name in the .d2s file and compares it with the filename.

    The latest version of ATMA allows you to change a character's name.
     
  4. Voldemort

    Voldemort IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Cool thx for that shade I never tried my method so thats a better way to do it.
     
  5. Houdini_Master

    Houdini_Master IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks alot Shade the ATMA progie is puuurrfect.


    This was my very first thought and attempt. Worked great and even saw the name was changed in the char selection window but all went to hell when I clicked on the char to load...lol...I was like "oh, cool", "oh crap"

    Thanks Guys.
    Seems everyone in chat are morons, no one wants to help the new guy :rolleyes: well I know where to go now. :)
     

Share This Page