Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

CD-ROM driver error when loading Diablo 2

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Patch Bug Reports & Suggestions' started by cleverbugger, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. cleverbugger

    cleverbugger Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    CD-ROM driver error when loading Diablo 2

    I just bought Diablo 2, installed it on my cumputer sucessfully. But when i put the Play disc in... it says " Please make sure your Diablo 2 Play Disc is in your CD-ROM drive, then click on 'Retry'. "
    Any solutions?
    thanks
     
  2. SMTP

    SMTP Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    You are indeed using the PLAY disc right? If so then if you have 2 cd-rom drives make sure its in the drive you used to install the game...
     
  3. cleverbugger

    cleverbugger Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes i have done that... i have done most things that are obvious... an i have asked other ppl... but it still doesnt work
     
  4. SMTP

    SMTP Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    hmm, well What version of the game do you have installed?
     
  5. cleverbugger

    cleverbugger Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Version... like i dont have the expansion of diablo 2... if thats what u mean.. if not how do i find it?
     
  6. cleverbugger

    cleverbugger Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it says 1.0.0.1.. i think
     
  7. SMTP

    SMTP Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
  8. cleverbugger

    cleverbugger Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    lol tried that also.... but thanks for the help anyhows
     
  9. waflob

    waflob Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    just a thought ...

    Did you change the drive letter of the cd between installing and playing ? Maybe you should check that the registry has the correct settings
     
  10. thegiantturtle

    thegiantturtle Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    120
    If you haven't already, you may want to try booting your computer with the cd in the drive. I used to have to do that for my old cd-rom to recognize it.
     
  11. cleverbugger

    cleverbugger Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yup tried both suggestions... or rather did that in the first place.. my comp is a realitivly newer comp an i dont know if it is compatibility issues or what....... plays most other games fine
     
  12. ArcOlixter

    ArcOlixter Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    My cd has compatibility issues with D2 too, but only on the install. Could be the drivers.

    Try the kudgy workaround I use to fool mine - Try putting in the wrong cd, like the install cd, when it requests the play cd. Then put the play cd in when you get another prompt.
     
  13. charonn

    charonn Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Try this:

    1. Put Diablo 2 "play CD" on the CD-ROM.
    2. Double click on "My computer".
    3. Run Diablo 2.
    4. Before it said "Put your play CD on CD-ROM",right click on your CD-ROM icon on "My computer" at once.
    5. Choose "Eject" when the CD is loading.
    6. It will then bring up a blue screen, press "Enter" to continue.
    7. Put your CD back to CD-ROM and close it.
     
  14. cleverbugger

    cleverbugger Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    lol nope non of those suggestions seem to be working.... which is kinda rather irrating.. because i bought the game an it wont work.... Do you think a no cd patch would work?
     
  15. vgss

    vgss Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh my, yes. Save yourself the trouble visit d2sector.net. They'll hook you up
     

Share This Page