Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

CD-ROM drive error.

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by Catathor, May 29, 2005.

  1. Catathor

    Catathor IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    CD-ROM drive error.

    hey all, yesterday my life changed, i couldnt start Diablo LoD. This might be due my own stupidity, cuz i clicked on a link, and the .pif file extracked something on my pc, and i cant play dia :S:S:S when i try to start the game, there is an error: CD-ROM drive error. Diablo II failed to run. Please make sure your Diablo II Expansion Disc is in your CD-ROM drive, then click on 'Retry'. But the disc IS IN THE CD-ROM DRIVE. grrr.

    please tell me how to help this. thnx

    grtz Catathor (lvl 67 paladin)
     
  2. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    29,991
    Likes Received:
    967
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Get a virus checker ON THE SPOT !

    Stop entering passwords anywhere !

    For god's sake, stop all internet banking activity !!!!!!!
     
  3. LordGrevious

    LordGrevious IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have gotten this error also. But it wasn't because of what you did. What I found solved this problem is if you have Windows XP (Like me) or 2000 your account must be set to administrator or your administrator must give you access to the D2LOD directory. That cleared that problem up for me because D2 has a safeguard on it for some reason. It stops limited accounts from running the game, thus giving you the CD-ROM drive error. If you don't think this error is legit than please visit this link:

    Click Me

    I would say investigate all the errors on this page. They all have to do with the CD-ROM drive error. But Step 8 is the one that worked for me. :)
     
  4. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    29,991
    Likes Received:
    967
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Check for viruses anyway. Apart from your CD problems, you probaby installed a trojan and who knows what its purpose is.
     
  5. thegiantturtle

    thegiantturtle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    I'm with krischan. Check for viruses.
     
  6. Catathor

    Catathor IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    thnx guys for your help, but the only solution was to reinstall windows xp, but now diablo finally runs :D

    bye all
     

Share This Page