Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Can someone show me the way...

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by SK_Cobra04, Feb 28, 2004.

  1. SK_Cobra04

    SK_Cobra04 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can someone show me the way...

    To transfer my saved games from one machine to another...I've been playing on D2 on my wife's computer while waiting to rebuild mine, now that it is rebuilt I want to move over my saved games. I tried copying the "saved" folder to the new install but when I run the game none of the saved characters show up....I think I was able to do this before, but I don't remember how.
     
  2. Borlag

    Borlag IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    well, there's two possible reasons why your characters aren't showing that way.

    1. You were playing realm characters
    2. You haven't patched the game to the same patch in both computers

    So basically, either connect to realms with the same login and then find the characters, or then check the version of the game on the other computer and patch your new computer according to that. Otherwise, just copying the save folder is enough.
     
  3. PedPerBog

    PedPerBog IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    as far as i know, u should create a character by the same name on your computer (guess the same class to, but not sure), then u copy the saved file from your wife computer to your computer save folder, replacing the newly created character.
    After that i believe you open the character and it should be your saved one.
    Hope it helps, though not so sure about it.
     
  4. farting bob

    farting bob Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea, id expect its on the the 2 borlag said.
     
  5. SK_Cobra04

    SK_Cobra04 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok. I'll check the versions...i've not played online yet...D2 that is. Thanks
     
  6. Uzziah

    Uzziah IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Doing this is a good way to get errors in opening the files. It is better to just copy the old files (all of them for the char) into the save game file.

    You should then be able to open them provided you have the same version as the one they were saved in.
     

Share This Page