beware diablo2's "delete character" button if you use atma

huangfusong

Diabloii.Net Member
beware diablo2's "delete character" button if you use atma

i had a bunch of singleplayer mules, gemsA, gemsB etc and decided to make it into one stash called gemsa. After I moved everything, i forgot to delete the character file in windows and loaded diablo 2. thought i'd delete it there, but it deleted both the character file and my stash! lukcily i had a backup already.

this sounds like a pretty big bug. it appears to delete anything in the save directory with "gemsa" in it -- i even tried making a textfile called gemsa and it deleted that too.
 

Thyiad

Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian
Did you post this in the Atma thread in the SPF? Just a thought ....
 

Kefir-Tribe

Diabloii.Net Member
Interesting. Considering that all maps etc. of the character is supposed to be deleted too, I think that makes sense. It's hardly Hakai's fault though.

It's a very long time since I kept my stashes in the d2 save folder.

edit:
@Thyiad
As I understand it your stash must:
a) be in the save folder (no directory under it).
b) have exactly the same name as a character that is deleted.
 

Thyiad

Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian
My stashes are in a folder call stash under the save directory. I have deleted a character from the save directory through D2 and everything was ok. Am I missing the point here? :embarassed:
 

Hamburger

Diabloii.Net Member
Are your stashes and your char named the same? :roll:

I believe it deletes all files under the same name, and it doesn't check the extension(or this is at least what happened to him)

Btw, thanks for posting this. My PC is the only place I'm tidy at, so I have different folders for everything, but it's good to know.
 
Top