Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Basic tips on untwinked gem/rune/jewel management?

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by sequoia, Apr 18, 2008.

1. sequoia

sequoia IncGamers Member

Basic tips on untwinked gem/rune/jewel management?

I've got little to no experience with untwinked play, so unlike on bnet - I actually have to save gems and runes and jewels because I'll never know when I might need them...

On that note, anyone have basic rules of thumb to follow? I have a million chips and flaws that I'm not sure if I should cube up, or if I should be keeping at all, the same with jewels. Runes aren't an issue too much, though.

2. Genraek

Genraek IncGamers Member

Re: Basic tips on untwinked gem/rune/jewel management?

I tend to cube everything up, but I'm new to SP too, no real reason to keep em low.

3. Ikeren

Ikeren IncGamers Member

Most people only keep Standard, Flawless, and cube to perfect. Some don't even bother with standard gems.

In terms of runes, lots of people pick up every one, and a few keep only Ral + or Sol+.

Jewels are generally kept for crafting, or if they have good mods (Resist all, FHR, Lower Reqs, ED). I keep all jewels - I find they accumulate slower than crafting runes/pgems, especially when I hell-forge rush. I only keep standard gems or higher, and all runes.

4. Eredian

Eredian IncGamers Member

Remember you need chippies and flawed gems a lot if you want to cube up your runes. Personally, I always keep my chipped and flawed gems for that purpose since it takes a lot of them to get perfect gems and you get stuck with tons of thuls/amns after a few countess runs unless you have some chipped topaz/amethyst to get to the higher runes (very nice to get some hels for unsocketing etc.)

5. scottee

scottee IncGamers Member

QFT.