Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Baron FirstBorn - 1.00 pike/WW barb

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by helvete, Jul 22, 2017.

1. helvete

helvete Diabloii.Net Member

As you may or may not know, I've never done a "character complete" thread before. No mat/pat thread, not even for my level 99 1.13 hammerdin. The reasons for this are manyfold. Most importantly that I never feel that a character can be complete, in any sense. And those few characters I have "completed", someone else have already done, and better. But enough of this.

FirstBorn's journey has been in tandem with my journey to explore this game in all its aspects and patches. I realized that 1.07 eth weapons weren't even close to the limit to what earlier patches could offer. After a few beers, and another few, and then yet another few, I came up with the idea of writing a grand guide, encompassing every possible benefit of going back to any official patch. I thought that was going to be hard, but I had no idea...

Just starting off a character in 1.00 is pretty tough. As years pass, games get easier. Oh boy have we seen that with D2! I remember playing "Eye of the Beholder" as a kid, hardly even understanding English. Now that was tough. D2, you can "just" hack your way through. However, in soviet 1.00, the game just might hack through you.

Speaking of hacks, just getting the game to run properly wasn't easy. Well, that was until I found out about @fearedbliss and his version switcher. Add in sven's glide wrapper, and voillá!

FirstBorn started out solo. He was determined to use pikes as his weapon of choice because:
    - Lances can't drop until 1.04
    - Low requirements
    - Higher damage than most exceptional spears/polearms and most certainly the bugged maces
    - Wide range, which comes in handy as WW attacks every. single. frame.
    - Pikes drop a lot more often than the other viable options, and can be gambled.