Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Barbarians vs. Desert Mercenaries

Discussion in 'Sorceress' started by YayNoCops, Apr 28, 2005.

1. YayNoCops

YayNoCops IncGamers Member

Barbarians vs. Desert Mercenaries

This is my first time playing, and I’m a level 35ish sorceress, I’m about to fight Baal and finish the game on normal difficulty. So far I’ve been using a defensive desert mercenary from act II, who has more than done well by me. My question is, before I complete act 5 should I pick up a barbarian hireling? Comparing them at comparable levels on paper, obviously the barbarian has higher strength, resistances and hit points, but lower everything else. The barbarians bash attack seems to be only slightly better than desert warriors jab attack when you factor in 3 hits. I know the barbarian can use barbarian +skill equipment and can duel wield, in that case, does that mean a bash or stun attack would be twice as effective as listed? If so, that would make his damage output tremendous. I guess what I’m getting at is, is the defiance aura of the desert mercenary worth sacrificing for the extra damage and faster healing of the barbarian? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Indemaijinj

Indemaijinj IncGamers Member

Firstly, the barbarian cannot dual-wield. He can only wield ONE sword and no shield. And frankly, I do not think the selection of swords really matches up to the many awesome polearms available. The ability to wear barbarian helms is neat, but nothing else, it's not like he can really put those +skills to any practical use anyway.

The barbarian's Bash is more annoying than anything knocking monsters round and about (often out of your area of effect spells), but his stun is really nice.

When you factor in the awesome auras available on desert warriors the barbarian really comes out as the inferior.