Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

ATMA question

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by The_Painkiller, Feb 1, 2004.

  1. The_Painkiller

    The_Painkiller IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ATMA question

    hey all, i downloaded atma (5.02 and ATS), and cant seem to get it to work. i am running version 1.10 (not version 1.10s) and it tells me unable to load cahrector file. the reason i dont just update to 1.10s is because i was told i would lose most of my items if i did. if anyone knows how i can get past losing all my stuff and let me know. thanks a lot.
     
  2. Shade

    Shade IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    165
    ...

    So you're running the first beta patch? You'd want ATMA IV for that I believe.

    To upgrade 1.10 beta 1 (1.10a as some call it) to the final patch without losing anything, just use the final patch. 1.10s was the one that deleted everything.

    If, on the other hand, you're already running the final version (ie. you can see 'Battle.Net' as an option when you start up) then something else is wrong.
     
  3. The_Painkiller

    The_Painkiller IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no cant see battle.net now, just have the first beta patch so im ok to get the latest patch?
     
  4. Shade

    Shade IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Here's what you should do, in a handy step-by-step method:

    - Copy your entire save folder somewhere safe.
    - Use the 'RevertTo109.bat' file in your Diablo II folder to revert to 1.09. (It's automatically put there when you installed the beta patch, so you don't have to get it seperately)
    - Download the latest patch (1.10) and patch your D2 to this version.
    - Copy your save folder back into your D2 directory.

    Be careful - you need to make sure that your characters are safe before doing anything, so make sure you have at least 1 backup.

    If anything odd happens, just ask here and someone should be able to help out! :)
     
  5. Shivan

    Shivan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1.10a chars transfer to 1.10 FINAL with no loss of items i'm pretty sure
    back up your chars just in case i'm wrong
     
  6. The_Painkiller

    The_Painkiller IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    guys i really appreciate your help thanks a lot
     
  7. The_Painkiller

    The_Painkiller IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok so now i got the right version, the final 1.10 and still have all my items, but ATMA will not load my chars. it says "Unknown version 0x5f". but if i create a new charector it will load that. any idea whats going on there?
     
  8. Boddah_khan

    Boddah_khan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    You have to open your characters in the game, then save and exit. Then they should convert properly and you will be able to load them. Cheers!
     
  9. chase_encode

    chase_encode IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Shade forgot one last step. ;)

    You have to "play" the characters in order to convert them. Just a quick in and out will be enough to convert them.

    Then if you can't see them in ATMA. Make sure you have ATMA 5.03 if you have something earlier, ATMA will not recognize 1.10 (final) chars.

    If that doesn't work you might want to post in the ATMA sticky at the top of the forum. The creator of ATMA often visits and may help you solve your problem.

    -Good luck

    edit: Boddah_khan beat me to the punch. :D
     

Share This Page