Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

And once again...

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by masterazn, Apr 2, 2004.

  1. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And once again...

    ...I feel there is need for a thread like this. We haven't had any discussions like this lately.


    So, would you rather use an AMD CPU or an Intel CPU?

    let's stick to the Athlon XP 2500/2700/2800/3000+/3200+ and the P4 2.2/2.4/2.8/3.0/3.2 CPUs just so we don't get into the 64bit stuffs.

    So post your reasons why you prefer one to another.
     
  2. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,706
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    467
    G5 @ 2GHz



    * runs away *
     
  3. Satrina

    Satrina IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    I use whatever Hubby says he's gonna put in the PC. Makes no nevermind to me, as long as the bloody thing works when I want it too :uhhuh:

    I remember him saying something about Intel being poo or something though one time
     
  4. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You know, I was going to put that up as I hear wonders about the G5 CPUs...but I don't know anything about them, so if you would please spill some stuff to me about Apple CPUs and how they compare with the AMDs and Intels
     
  5. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,706
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    467
    The long and the short of it is, they can't really be compared to Intel or AMD chips. You use them in different machines (only one machine, for now), they're more expensive, they run a whole different OS, and people buy them for different reasons a lot of the time. If you want to have a more meaningful discussion I suggest sticking to AMD/Intel and leaving the G5 chips to us Macheads. :)

    I will say that I (and lots of other Mac observers) have been waiting all year so far for a G5 speed bump and a price drop, and they had better be a good ones. :rant:
     
  6. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I still don't get it...is the architecture really different? Is a G5 2.0GHz the same as say...a pentium 4 2.0?
     
  7. toader

    toader Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, what Durf said.

    But if we are staying within the rules....

    AMD >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Pentium
     
  8. th5418

    th5418 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    9,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You get more bang for your buck for AMD.
     
  9. VampiroXIII

    VampiroXIII IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    True, which is why I use one. I personally like Pentiums more though because they can have up to an 800 MHz FSB, and the highest I've seen AMDs have is 333 MHz. Don't quote me on the max speed though, there could be something out there that I haven't seen yet. However, I can't comfortably afford a Pentium motherboard/CPU combo that can support 800 MHz FSB.

    Proprietary = crap.
     
  10. caddad

    caddad IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    165
    @Home - AMD Me
    @Work - 2X Xeon Me

    That is all.

    -D2netDad
     
  11. Nastie_Bowie

    Nastie_Bowie Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using a pentium mobo and chip p4 2.53ghz, multi-task capable.

    Works good for what I do.
     
  12. Fallen_62

    Fallen_62 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    my comp i built - amd 2500+ barton (overclocked to 2.2 GHz)
    the schools comps - p4 @ 2.4 GHz
     
  13. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    I have a P4 1.5GHz. Old school P4. Ohio State just got some new ones for their aero labs. 3.4GHz, 1 GB RAM, P4.
     
  14. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, the Mac processors will not run an x86 system at all, not only because of the number of pins it has(Macs have more IIRC), but because of the way the operate. Also a G5 2.0ghz is much much much faster than a Pentium/AMD 2.0ghz. That is one reason why the new G5 is such a beast, it can handle much more different sets of commands(read: programs) than an AMD/Pentium can with ease. I got to mess around on my friends G5(drool :cheesy: :drool: ) because his dad does graphics and they got two of them free(lucky bastard*shakes fist*). I clicked on MAYA and 3DSM at the same time and they didn't even get a full bounce in the dock before fully loaded. The fastest AMD/Pentiums couldn't do that.

    In short Mac processors are much better. :yep: (<--He got updated)
     
  15. th5418

    th5418 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    9,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a 450 Mhz P2 Processor. Wickedly fast. Zoom!
     
  16. Cygnus434

    Cygnus434 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    62
    You can't beat the cheap Athlon XP's.

    I'm running an XP 2600 and I just built a system for my girlfriend with a 2500.

    I'm looking into overclocking that 2500 because of the beast of a heatsink/fan that I got for it.


    Anyone have any experience with the new AMD 64-bit processors? I'm curious as all.

    But ya, the only quirk with AMD processors is that there are 3 or 4 different types of the exact same processor. They change their fabrication process in hopes of raising the FSB capabilities and reducing heat, so its kind of tricky to order OEM and hope to get a good one.

    Intel is just TOO EXPENSIVE for how little of a speed difference you can get out of it.
     
  17. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hear AMDs burn and are unstable, is this somewhat true?


    Also, Merlin says that the 800MHz FSB on pentiums is really just as effecient as a 200MHz on an AMD.
     
  18. th5418

    th5418 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    9,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What are AMDs burn? No, they are not unstable. Unless you overclock it without any cooling system. Or, unless you even run it without any cooling system.
     
  19. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As in AMDs overheat and are not as good, let's say quality, as Pentiums. You know, if you buy a cheaper engine, chances are it'll screw up more often.
     
  20. th5418

    th5418 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    9,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMDs will not overheat if you give it enough cooling. Yeah, it creates more heat than a Pentium. But with a copper Zalman fan its good enough.
     

Share This Page