Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

aight.... math geniuses come here O_O

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Sober_Irishman69, Mar 16, 2004.

1. Sober_Irishman69

Sober_Irishman69 IncGamers Member

aight.... math geniuses come here O_O

yea, im a high school student still taking Alg II, so i need a lil help (parabolas)

our tests/quizzes always consist of a bonus, usually one i can look at and work out in my head. however, this time, i ran into a paticularly nasty one:

write a quadratic equation in the form y=a(x-h) [squared, the little 2, cant type the exponent] + k

the point are -1,10 0,6 and 2,** (<--- i typed correctly, yes)

ummm any help about methods to solve this beast? i dont get credit if i solve it like a week later, but knowin the mthod will help... thanks guys!

-Sober

o yea... i can tell you that i dont think any of the mentioned points are the vertex >_< ty!

2. toader

toader Banned

^ symbol means squared.

Im not really understanding what your asking here?

The form of the quardratic equation is:

y=a(x-h)^2 + k

right?

and then you just say...the point are -1,10 0,6 and 2,**

right?

What are those points of?
    Are they points that the parabola intersects or what?

If so, am I understanding it correctly that:

You have a parabola that intersects the following points [-1, 10, 0, 6, 2, **] and you need to write an equation for this parabola in the form of: y=a(x-h)^2 + k?

Is this the problem you are presenting to us? :spy:

edit: or do you mean the points are (X,Y), (-1,10), (0,6), (2,**) of the parabola?

3. toader

toader Banned

Ok....if my assumptions are correct...including my edit...then here is the answer.

Kinda ;)

I feel guilty about giving you the answer, so Ill give it to you in a different form and let you play with it.

The equation of the parabola that passes thru the points (-1,10), (0,6), (2,**)
    is:

y = 15x^2 + 11x + 6