Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Advice needed

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by esd, Mar 12, 2004.

1. esd

esd IncGamers Member

Advice needed

I recently started a new character - bone skill necromancer. Untwinked because I have no items. I'm planning to get him to hell and do pit/countess runs. Right now he's in Act V NM at level 58. But I don't know how to distribute his stat points ! So any advice would be very helpful. At the moment he has 100 str 40 dex 80 nrg 80 vit and 75 points unspent.

2. Kremtok

Kremtok IncGamers Member

I have no experience with Necromancers after 1.07, but here goes.

Firstly, your strength and dexterity stat point allocations are determined primarily by what gear you intend to use. I wouldn't put any more into strength, but you should decide if you're going to use a wand or dagger, because that will dictate how much dexterity you need. Usually, for a bone skill Necromancer, a wand is the better choice. Wands don't have dexterity requirements, so you're good there. Daggers, on the other hand, have up to 75 dexterity required, I think. Check out The Arreat Summit to get item specifics.

Secondly, I have a somewhat different approach to Vitality and Energy than most. I made it all the way through Hell with less than 500 life, but I had over 2000 Mana. My primary skill was Bone Spirit, and as I'm sure you've discovered, really uses up Mana quickly. I decided that I never want to run out of mana, and inspired by a Mana Regeneration Shrine, I loaded up on Energy, +Mana items, and +Mana Regeneration items. The result was spectacular. I could regenerate mana faster than I could use it spamming Bone Spirit. While putting so many points into energy and so few into vitality is clearly not the safest route to go, it has its advantages, and it worked out for me.