Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Advice for Newbies

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by Joyotoki, Feb 11, 2004.

1. Joyotoki

Joyotoki IncGamers Member

Advice for Newbies

Okay, so let's play a little make-believe. Your friend just recently discovered D2, and they're a complete newbie to this type of online RPG. You're a well seasoned D2 player. What is the most important piece of advice you can give your friend?

2. Pombe

Pombe IncGamers Member

Don't let the annonymous nature of online play turn you into another faceless jerk in cyberspace. There are already far too many of those around.

Be pleasant and polite to people and you will be rewarded.

3. Lord Chaos

Lord Chaos IncGamers Member

"If you find any gold/brown items, you give them to me...that is how things work in Diablo 2" :D

4. alainpp66

alainpp66 IncGamers Member

If I ever see you speaking Leet, I'm smacking you.

Oh, and add a X2 to what Pombe said.

Don't hesitate to ask questions even if you think you'll be ridiculed. Even if the first 5 people who answer make fun of you, the 6th may be the one to come in and leave you more educated than you were before. Knowledge is Power.

Try and surround yourself with a solid group of friends so you have some sort of sanctuary against the cesspool that is most of Public B.net and may allow you to retain a decency throughout your playing days. Allow this group to grow but be don't be too trusting at first. There are some sick people who'll relish your losses just because there are no repercussions. Any and all of your beliefs about human decency will actually be tested.

5. Diab

Diab IncGamers Member

Basically what the other people said, and also, direct him to these forums and this site. They are both very good resources, and are what kept me playing for so long.

6. Dredd

Dredd D3 Off Topic Moderator

"Read The Manual."