Accidentally opened a vanilla char in RWM

XyleneCyanol

Diabloii.Net Member
When you play vanilla, you simply run Game.exe without any flags (or with the regular -ns -w etc.) When you play RWM, you run "Game.exe -direct -txt".

I have both vanilla and RWM chars in the same folder, which means I can see vanilla chars when playing RWM. I am careful most of the time, but today, when I run RWM (Game.exe -direct -txt), I accidentally opened a vanilla char.

So, a stupid question: does this char still count as a vanilla char?
 

XyleneCyanol

Diabloii.Net Member
Darn it, did a few Mephisto runs ..., but I haven't transfer any items to other vanilla stashes/char.

I guess I will simply mark this char as RWM?
 

ioupainmax

Diabloii.Net Member
"To err is human", I agree with Fabian.

EDIT: Just seen your reply, your suggestion to make that Character RWM makes sense.
 

Treeharl

Diabloii.Net Member
If you don't use any advantages at your character you should be fine indeed. By the way next time you open your character accidently in a different patch or enviroment just end the process because it won't save your character in that case. Opening chars at a different patch or instalation might turn your character or its inventory corrupt so be very carefull about that!
 

XyleneCyanol

Diabloii.Net Member
If you don't use any advantages at your character you should be fine indeed. By the way next time you open your character accidently in a different patch or enviroment just end the process because it won't save your character in that case. Opening chars at a different patch or instalation might turn your character or its inventory corrupt so be very carefull about that!
Thanks for the advice. I have no problem with different patches (they are in different places managed by BlissVersionSwitcher).

How do you physically separate vanilla and RWM chars? They are all in the same place: Saved Games --> Diablo II

Maybe I should manually copy them just in case:)
 

Treeharl

Diabloii.Net Member
Make a different folder inside your save folder and keep manually extracting them I guess. If you make a mistake imediatly end the d2 process.
 
Last edited:

coju

Diabloii.Net Member
Only the trade moderator can give you an explicit yes or no about this. I would message @Thyiad to make sure of your status.
Afaik, the only thing RWM adds is the ladder only RWs. Did you use them?
 

logoutzero

Diabloii.Net Member
You can make another save folder, within the main D2 directory. Just right click, "New" > "Folder"

Name it "Vanilla" and Cut/Paste your Vanilla characters into it.

If it's time to play Vanilla, rename "Saves" (currently full of RWM characters) to "RWM" and rename "Vanilla" to "Saves"

Same is true the other way. To rename a folder, you can left click it, then left click it again (not a double click) or you can can Right Click > Rename. A simple extra step to take at startup to prevent this from happening. It works for me, it may not for you, but try it out!
 

Thyiad

Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian
Pretty much everyone is right. :D

If you'd just opened/closed I'd have put that down to "agh" and left it. If you're running then I'd make it a RWM char. Yes, you could argue you're not actually using any RWM stuff but that's a whole load of a slippery slope that's just a nightmare to police.

I run HC/SC RWM/Vanilla combos and I have:
- Two desktop short cuts. One called Vanilla, one called RWM
- My save directory has sub-directories for HC and SC and sub-directories of those for RWM and vanilla. (Do do my stash files.)

Yeah I have to pull the character out but it's better than finding out that I've been wandering around with the wrong char/version/mod. Also prevents any boo-boos when sending stuff for trade.

I used to name all my non-expansion stuff with the prefix "Sem". That's another idea. Makes them easily identifiable.
 

zticazzy

Diabloii.Net Member
Hmm that got me thinking... I switched my char savefiles with a backup version a few times when I thought I wasn't going to play it anymore but I still made some runs around. Like, after making a definitive save, I couldn't resist the temptation to play again for a few minutes, maybe losing some potions / scrolls / dura, then I deleted the char and put the backup into the d2 save folder again to avoid changing my whole bunch of zip files with the latest version of the char. It's not that I did it because I lost something or died and lost exp (on the contrary I was getting some), it was simply the easiest way to keep my saves tidy and clean. :oops: Did I sin?
 
Top