Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Accidentally opened a vanilla char in RWM

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by XyleneCyanol, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. XyleneCyanol

    XyleneCyanol IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    65
    When you play vanilla, you simply run Game.exe without any flags (or with the regular -ns -w etc.) When you play RWM, you run "Game.exe -direct -txt".

    I have both vanilla and RWM chars in the same folder, which means I can see vanilla chars when playing RWM. I am careful most of the time, but today, when I run RWM (Game.exe -direct -txt), I accidentally opened a vanilla char.

    So, a stupid question: does this char still count as a vanilla char?
     
  2. Fabian

    Fabian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    277
    If you didn't do anything in-game, but literally just opened and closed the game, I wouldn't worry.
     
    pharphis likes this.
  3. XyleneCyanol

    XyleneCyanol IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Darn it, did a few Mephisto runs ..., but I haven't transfer any items to other vanilla stashes/char.

    I guess I will simply mark this char as RWM?
     
  4. ioupainmax

    ioupainmax IncGamers Site Pal

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    191
    "To err is human", I agree with Fabian.

    EDIT: Just seen your reply, your suggestion to make that Character RWM makes sense.
     
  5. Fabian

    Fabian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Yup, RWM it is.
     
  6. XyleneCyanol

    XyleneCyanol IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Okay, RWM it is.

    Thanks both :).
     
  7. Treeharl

    Treeharl IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    120
    If you don't use any advantages at your character you should be fine indeed. By the way next time you open your character accidently in a different patch or enviroment just end the process because it won't save your character in that case. Opening chars at a different patch or instalation might turn your character or its inventory corrupt so be very carefull about that!
     
  8. XyleneCyanol

    XyleneCyanol IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Thanks for the advice. I have no problem with different patches (they are in different places managed by BlissVersionSwitcher).

    How do you physically separate vanilla and RWM chars? They are all in the same place: Saved Games --> Diablo II

    Maybe I should manually copy them just in case:)
     
  9. Treeharl

    Treeharl IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Make a different folder inside your save folder and keep manually extracting them I guess. If you make a mistake imediatly end the d2 process.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2016
  10. coju

    coju IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Only the trade moderator can give you an explicit yes or no about this. I would message @Thyiad to make sure of your status.
    Afaik, the only thing RWM adds is the ladder only RWs. Did you use them?
     
  11. logoutzero

    logoutzero IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    187
    You can make another save folder, within the main D2 directory. Just right click, "New" > "Folder"

    Name it "Vanilla" and Cut/Paste your Vanilla characters into it.

    If it's time to play Vanilla, rename "Saves" (currently full of RWM characters) to "RWM" and rename "Vanilla" to "Saves"

    Same is true the other way. To rename a folder, you can left click it, then left click it again (not a double click) or you can can Right Click > Rename. A simple extra step to take at startup to prevent this from happening. It works for me, it may not for you, but try it out!
     
  12. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,309
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Pretty much everyone is right. :D

    If you'd just opened/closed I'd have put that down to "agh" and left it. If you're running then I'd make it a RWM char. Yes, you could argue you're not actually using any RWM stuff but that's a whole load of a slippery slope that's just a nightmare to police.

    I run HC/SC RWM/Vanilla combos and I have:
    - Two desktop short cuts. One called Vanilla, one called RWM
    - My save directory has sub-directories for HC and SC and sub-directories of those for RWM and vanilla. (Do do my stash files.)

    Yeah I have to pull the character out but it's better than finding out that I've been wandering around with the wrong char/version/mod. Also prevents any boo-boos when sending stuff for trade.

    I used to name all my non-expansion stuff with the prefix "Sem". That's another idea. Makes them easily identifiable.
     
    coju and ioupainmax like this.
  13. XyleneCyanol

    XyleneCyanol IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Thanks everybody for the suggestions.
    It seems it has to be done manually, okay:)
     
  14. ioupainmax

    ioupainmax IncGamers Site Pal

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Thyiad, what word is the prefix 'Sem' an abbreviation of?
     
  15. zticazzy

    zticazzy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    109
    Hmm that got me thinking... I switched my char savefiles with a backup version a few times when I thought I wasn't going to play it anymore but I still made some runs around. Like, after making a definitive save, I couldn't resist the temptation to play again for a few minutes, maybe losing some potions / scrolls / dura, then I deleted the char and put the backup into the d2 save folder again to avoid changing my whole bunch of zip files with the latest version of the char. It's not that I did it because I lost something or died and lost exp (on the contrary I was getting some), it was simply the easiest way to keep my saves tidy and clean. :oops: Did I sin?
     
  16. Fabian

    Fabian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    277
    z,

    Yup.
     
  17. zticazzy

    zticazzy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    303
    Trophy Points:
    109
    dang it
    [​IMG]
     
  18. ioupainmax

    ioupainmax IncGamers Site Pal

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    191
    May the seven have mercy on you.
     

Share This Page