Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

? about the /players command

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by inkanddagger, Jan 31, 2004.

1. inkanddagger

inkanddagger Banned

? about the /players command

Up until a few days ago, I didn't even know that this command existed.

I just started playing single player recently as I have no internet access at home right now (only at work), and I'm frustrated at how hard it is to level up effectively and such.

Now, will setting the game at /players 8 allow me to gain experience at the rate that i would if there were actually 8 players in the game? I am assuming this is how it works.

Also, if I am running mephisto, and I kill everything around him and then get him down to the last few hits, and then set the game from players 1 to players 8, will he drop more items like he does on b.net in multiplayer games?

This would be very helpful to me if the command works like I think it does.

Can't wait to get back to my 'puter on monday.

2. Joutaja

Joutaja IncGamers Member

Players X setting doesn't affect drops of uniques or super uniques (including act bosses). It only increases the chance that normal monster drops something (and of course theri hps and xp ammount they give).

Whenever you change the players setting it only affects the monsters that haven't spawned yet.

3. inkanddagger

inkanddagger Banned

It would've felt like cheating anyways.

thanks!

4. TrenShadow

TrenShadow IncGamers Member

Actually, the life of monsters is set when they spawn, but the drops are calculated when the monster dies. So, setting players8 before leaving town will increase life, XP, amount of drops etc for everything. Setting players8 after hitting Meph a few times will set his drop chance to that of an 8 player game, but his life/XP will stay at the original setting. I would feel uneasy about doing this though :)

5. inkanddagger

inkanddagger Banned