Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

A CS problem....

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by SelfBaisResistor, Feb 20, 2004.

  1. SelfBaisResistor

    SelfBaisResistor IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    A CS problem....

    I recently upgraded my computer. I had:

    Duron 700
    GeForce 2 MX 64 MB
    and an Epox Motherboard.

    I now have:

    Athlon XP 2500+
    MSI K7N2 Delta Motherboard
    and an ATI Radeao 9600 Pro Video Card

    I have the newest drivers for all my hardware and all the newest patches and steam updates for CS. After about 5-10 minutes of gameplay, usually after I die, my window minimizes and when I maximize the game back I get a black screen with no picture.

    My video settings in CS are on D3D, Highest Quality (32bit) and 800x680 resolution (I like the bigger look.)

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Canadia142

    Canadia142 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try putting the quality down. You also might wanna try putting the graphics on open gl.
     
  3. SelfBaisResistor

    SelfBaisResistor IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    It seems to be working. I can Alt Tab between the game and here. I'll keep you posted.
     
  4. PublicEnemy

    PublicEnemy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Sometimes it can be financially a better choice to buy another computer if you want to change the motherboard,which implies in your case,to change the RAM and some other components,and it can cost less if you choose your own spare parts and build it yourself;last advantage:you have 2 computers instead of one
     
  5. PublicEnemy

    PublicEnemy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    It must be a hardware problem;either the computer is not well balanced or there is an incompatibility of components
    After changing the hard drive of my computer for a bigger one,i couldn't download diablo 2 anymore (i had blue screens with fatal errors during the download);then i chose to upgrade the processor and this upgrade solved the problem
     
  6. Painman

    Painman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Try using OpenGL graphics instead of D3D... HL/CS is a Quake engine based game, so OpenGL is its native 3D API. Valve added the D3D support on their own and IMO it's neither particularly good looking nor stable.
     

Share This Page