Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

2 handed concentrate barb vs 1 hand questions

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by hackedagainanda, Aug 6, 2017.

1. hackedagainanda

hackedagainanda Diabloii.Net Member

I have a fairly decent Doom GPA and a Ebeastz.

I'm playing SC and have a decent amount of items. I was wondering do you think I would miss the blocking and extra defense/resists from a shield?

Also was wondering what kind of Merc would benefit a conc barb the most?

2. Burgomaster3

Burgomaster3 Diabloii.Net Member

I have no first hand experience with Conc Barbs, so take everything I say with a grain of salt, but here's my two cents:

With two handers, your fpa would cap at 10 frames. With one hander max fpa is 9 frames.

With Doom GPA, you would need whopping 150 IAS from other gear to reach 10 fpa breakpoint, which is obviously bit of a problem. That's why you'd be better off with Act 1 merc using Faith, that would bring the IAS needed from gear to the very reasonable 20. Although then you'd need to come up with some solution against Physical Immunes, since no Decrepify from Reaper's Toll, but point in Berserk is probably enough. Lacerator on switch, perhaps?

With Beast BA you would need 45 IAS from gear, which is a bit of an awkward number, but HLW/LoH/jewel in hat will do it. Better solution would be to have Beast in the off-hand, and some higher-damage Axe like Grief or Oath, or possibly BotD in the main hand. That would bring IAS needed from gear to 15 (lowest Grief) or none (Oath/BotD), so it offers a lot of flexibility, although melee builds tend to always have pretty standard gear. Merc Act 2 Might with Reaper's Toll, as per usual with the physical damage builds.