Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

1st post and it's a doozy

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by PanteraRIP, Apr 18, 2008.

  1. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    1st post and it's a doozy

    Hey all, k I was never much for the tech stuff with puters so bare with me.

    I have been a Single player since I bought battlechest 1.5 yrs ago. I recently tried playing on the realms and didn't last past clvl10 due to the lag... I didn't die I just stopped playing on bnet because of it.

    This morning I tried again and it was crazy (10am-noonish Mountaintime uswest and soloing at that lol), monsters were dieing halfway across the screen no where near my minions. So after I saved and exited, I click on the join game option and there is like less then 30 games in progress. Isn't that a tad low for this to be happening?

    Anyway, I do want to start playing on the realms but I want to insure that there is nothing wrong from my end first. So, is there any tests or things I can look into on my system to see if everything is fine with my puter? (it's only 1.5 yrs old) Maybe it's the cheap modem my net provider gave me? Or maybe bnet was/is that way from the getgo. Dunno.. any help would be great thou.:thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  2. TurbulentTurtle

    TurbulentTurtle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,413
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    First off, WALL OF TEXT! Paragraphs are your friends.
    Second, hey another person from Calgary! There are a couple of us here from Calgary. I'm in Waterloo for school and will be returning in a couple days after exams.

    As for the actual problem at hand, it might have something to do with your connection. Though I haven't been playing all too much on West lately, mostly because of exams and my new guy on East, I haven't really experienced any lag problems.

    And last, but certainly not least, welcome to the forums!
     
  3. NateTheBassGuy

    NateTheBassGuy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    I'm from Edmonton... that sorta counts, right?
    I used to live in Calgary.
     
  4. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    hi, and welcome to the forums :wave:

    make sure your not donwloading stuff in the background

    to check your ping and mem usage, chat
    /fps

    if its under 250 it should play pretty good, if its getting huge spikes, over 4000 save and exit, then make or join another game

    for the join game list, it only shows 20 at a time, to manually refresh it, pick on create then join again
     
  5. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    I'll start out by saying the fps test I just did is at 4am before werk. It was spiking a bit, highest was 1100 but it was averaging around 500. Is that passable? The game did seem a bit choppy but not as bad as yesterday. I'll probably end up phoning Telus (ISP) and speak to a tech on this. Anyways, thanks for the tip. Off to werk.
     
  6. TurbulentTurtle

    TurbulentTurtle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,413
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    That's quite high for an average resting ping count, usually I get around 94 and anything over 200 I start hitting a tiny bit of choppiness.
     
  7. ProfessionalBerg

    ProfessionalBerg IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    BTW, for your information, the Join menu will NEVER show all the games that are going on your realm. 30-odd games is what it normally displays to most people. You should start being concerned when theres 10 or less games on the list.
     
  8. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    if its avg is over 300, its most likely your isp or connection

    use tracert to help see where the slowdown is
    start-> run -> command -> [enter]
    tracert google.com -> [enter]

    will give a short ping list of each hop to the destination ip
    Code:
    C:\>tracert google.com
    
    Tracing route to google.com [72.14.207.99]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
      2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.1.1
      3    53 ms    53 ms    53 ms  mpls-dsl-gw21-213.mpls.qwest.net [207.225.140.213]
      4    53 ms    53 ms    53 ms  mpls-agw1.inet.qwest.net [65.103.30.161]
      5     *       54 ms    53 ms  min-core-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.128.129]
      6    85 ms    84 ms    84 ms  jfk-core-02.inet.qwest.net [67.14.5.94]
      7    84 ms    84 ms    84 ms  jfk-edge-20.inet.qwest.net [205.171.230.17]
      8    84 ms    84 ms    84 ms  205.171.37.10
      9    95 ms   118 ms    94 ms  72.14.233.113
     10    97 ms    95 ms    95 ms  66.249.94.92
     11   100 ms   105 ms   110 ms  66.249.94.118
     12    97 ms    97 ms   100 ms  eh-in-f99.google.com [72.14.207.99]
    Trace complete.
    with dialup your first hop will be around 100-200ms the rest should stay within 200 from there

    if there is a huge jump in numbers somewhere its not your fault, its one of your isp's or another network adding the lag
     
  9. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    k how do I post my results of the above test from ffejrxx since I have no idea what these numbers mean.
     
  10. Copilot

    Copilot IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    I use telus and love in BC, I hate telus. Every night my internet will randomly disconnect for 10 seconds every couple of minutes. Other times I will have 2000 ping and then 20 minutes later it will be 70.
     
  11. TurbulentTurtle

    TurbulentTurtle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,413
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    My dad switched from Shaw to Telus -_-
    Though my brother told me we just switched to another provider recently while I've been away at university, so I'll have to see how it is. My brother tells me the speeds are a lot better though, so I'm looking forward to that.
     
  12. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    for the tracert command it gives several columns
    ex.
    Code:
     12    97 ms    97 ms   100 ms  eh-in-f99.google.com [72.14.207.99]
     a     b        c       d       e                    f
    
    
    a= hop number
    b-d= ping to that server 3 attempts, * = ping timeout
    e= server name if available
    f= server ip address
    
    to copy from the command window, right click on the title bar -> edit -> mark
    you will get a blinking box on the top left of the text in the window
    left click and drag to get the section that you want copied
    when you have what you want right click again

    to put it in a code box use
    type [code ]
    right click -> paste
    in the forum reply box
    [/code]



     
  13. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    K I phoned the tech dude ... I tried the google.com in the dos window and the highest figure I got was 57 on the 8 lines... (sorry but for some reason the Copy option is greyed out when I right click so I can't post the actual window). I am assuming this is a great improvement. The loading of pages why surfing has also been fixed. (spybot didn't seem to make a difference) Now I just have to test the game.
     
  14. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    K fps was 75... ping was at/below 100 just standing around..... running around smacking zombies the highest was at 400... a huge improvement from 4am this morning espeicially with the servers being more busy now thean at that time. Telus earned HUGE browny points. The tech and I spoke for all of 5 minutes and he was all over it. Thanks to everyone for their input and in pointing me in the right direction. I think we should be good to go YAY!
     
  15. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    Tracing route to google.com [72.14.207.99]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms d209-89-28-1.abhsia.telus.net [209.89.28.1]
    2 17 ms 16 ms 16 ms 154.11.214.1
    3 50 ms 49 ms 48 ms chcgildtgr00.bb.telus.com [154.11.11.30]
    4 49 ms 49 ms 49 ms 74.125.48.173
    5 49 ms 48 ms 51 ms 209.85.250.239
    6 61 ms 59 ms 61 ms 216.239.46.12
    7 58 ms 62 ms 60 ms 72.14.232.111
    8 63 ms 59 ms 66 ms 72.14.236.134
    9 62 ms 58 ms 61 ms eh-in-f99.google.com [72.14.207.99]

    Trace complete.


    Kewl thanks man.
     
  16. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    I loved Vic I was there twice in '94(?) visiting a friend... good times. Is that abandoned building frame still standing by the potholes?

    Hey lets make a trade you can have Shaw services while we get your summer weather and green grass:grin:


     
  17. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
  18. Gorny

    Gorny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    Hey sir, welcome to the forums.

    Please take note that we do not allow multiple successive postings like the 4 in a row above, it's spamming. You can edit any post for up to one hour to add or remove content.

    Please take note of the Forum rules

    And also read the thread linked below:

    http://forums.diabloii.net/showthread.php?t=495535



     
  19. PanteraRIP

    PanteraRIP IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    K life on the realms is actually enjoyable now but it's not 100% yet. Sometimes my merc and wolf friends are attacking enemies on the opposite side of the screen. Here is what I have done myself.... msconfig (got lazy and sellected all), removed useless programs like MS location finder, encyclopedia, and everything else a simple google search can come up with, upgraded my connection, defrag on a reg basis even if windows says it's not necessary..... here is a speed test result from a link a few posts up..

    [​IMG]

    I read on a different thread about clean disk (?) is this similar to scandisk that was on win98 (I have xp and searched for both and nuttin)... is there anything else I am missing?
     
  20. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: 1st post and it's a doozy

    your pings/speeds look good, that would narrow it down to something on your computer causing the problems, or its just bnet being bnet
     

Share This Page